Better late than never – September/October Favorites and skincare

I came across old photos of products that I really enjoyed using during the months of September and October. I fully intended to blog about them at the time but it must have slipped my mind. Oops. But, like the saying goes, better late than never.

Milani Nail Lacquer Jewel FX – Gems

This is a fantastic drugstore multicolor glitter polish that will only set you back $4-$5. Milani Gems contains a mix of small and large hexagonal glitter in an variety of colors such as orange, a purplish pink, gold, light blue, dark blue, green, silver, and red.

Milani Nail Lacquer Jewel FX - Gems

L’Oreal – Whimsical

Throughout most of September and October I was wearing Whimsical, a pink foil polish, on my nails. This was my first L’Oreal polish and color me impressed. Whimsical applied easily, dried quickly and wore really well. I didn’t experience any chipping for at least a week. Whimsical was a Limited Edition shade from L’Oreal’s 2011 Color of Hope collection.

L'Oreal - Whimsical

Jordana Easyshine Glossy Lip Color – Watermelon Juice, Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream – #13 Milky Beige

I have a ton of lipsticks but nothing in my stash is as easy to carelessly swipe on as the Jordana Easyshines. The shade I used most often in Sept./Oct. was Watermelon Juice, a bright pink creme that provides a sheer wash of color to my lips.

For the face, I pretty much used Missha BB cream exclusively. I’ve tried Missha M Perfect Cover #21 and #23 in the past and both were too dark, as well as too grey, for me. #13 Milky Beige is one of Missha’s newer shades — also the lightest — and it’s a pretty decent match for my NC10-15 skin. I only wish it had a dewy finish. On my dry/very dry skin, this bb cream has a satin matte finish.

Jordana Easyshine - Watermelon Juice, Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream #13 Milky Beige

Canmake Cream Cheek 05 Sweet Apricot & Majolica Majorca Puff de Cheek PK301 Peach Macaron

When I wasn’t wearing Canmake 05 I was wearing Majolica Majorca PK301, and oftentimes I wore both layered one on top of the other. The Canmake cream blush is pigmented, blends really easily, and doesn’t feel sticky on the skin. The Majolica Majorca is more of a sheer, matte blush which is why I like to wear it with a cream blush underneath, but the color can be built up easily. At first glance Canmake 05 looks matte but upon closer inspection, especially once you start blending it out on the skin, you can see that it contains a tiny amount of micro-shimmer.

Canmake Cream Cheek - 05 Sweet Apricot, Majolica Majorca Puff de Cheek - PK301 Peach Macaron

Below are swatches of all the lip, cheek and face products mentioned. If you look closely at the Canmake swatch, you’ll be able to see the micro-shimmer I was talking about earlier. For reference, my arm is a bit darker than my face.

Left to right: Canmake Cream Cheek 05 Sweet Apricot, Majolica Majorca Puff de Cheek PK301 Peach Macaron, Jordana Easyshine Watermelon Juice, Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream #13 Milky Beige (unblended)

Left to right: Canmake Cream Cheek 05 Sweet Apricot, Majolica Majorca Puff de Cheek PK301 Peach Macaron, Jordana Easyshine Watermelon Juice, Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream #13 Milky Beige (blended)

And here’s a quick look at my skincare regimen during September. My aunt who’s addicted to HSN (Home Shopping Network), ordered a Serious Skincare Vitamin C anniversary kit and sent it to me to try. It came with a day lotion with SPF and a night cream but I chose not to use them because I already had a day and night cream in use, and I prefer to use a separate sunscreen. The only products from the kit that I used were the eye and facial serums and their microdermabrasion kit.

Left to right: Burt's Bees Sensitive Daily Moisturizing Lotion, Burt's Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser, Serious Skincare Vitamin C Eye Serum, Serious Skincare Vitamin C Ester Skin Conditioner, Olive Oil, Eucerin Q10 Anti-Wrinkle Cream, Neutrogena Ageless Intensives Deep Wrinkle Anti-Wrinkle Serum, Serious Skincare Vitamin C Microderm Kit

The microderm set from the HSN Serious Skincare kit is another dupe of the Philosophy Microdelivery and Olay Regenerist Microdermabrasion kits. It, too, is a two-step exfoliator that consists of a superfine scrub and an acid peel. However, compared to the Philosophy and Olay kits, the Serious Skincare scrub is a lot drier and denser, and the exfoliating particles are coarser. Also, it doesn’t smell good at all.

The serums from the HSN Serious Skincare kit feel nice on the skin — they have a slippery, glycerin-rich texture — but I don’t think they did anything for my skin. Maybe it has to do with the bottles they come in. I’ve heard it said that unless Vitamin C products come in dark, glass bottles and are placed in a dark, cool place they lose their efficacy from exposure to light. It could be true, I don’t know. All I know is that the serum hasn’t really made a visible difference. But, since they contain glycerin (a humectant), at least I know that they’re moisturizing.

I was invited to test out some Burt’s Bees skincare products by BzzAgent so I incorporated them into my daily regimen. Suffice it to say, I do like both products but I don’t think I’d recommend it to people with oily skin. Review on both products pending.

I’ve been using olive oil as one of my daytime and nighttime moisturizers. I’ve used a few natural oils so far and I have to say it’s okay. I don’t find it drying like jojoba oil but I don’t find it as moisturizing as Vitamin E or Sweet Almond Oil. It also doesn’t absorb into the skin as quickly. I bought a huge bottle of olive oil from the health food store and I decant a little bit of it at a time into a travel size pump bottle. Once I’m done with all of the olive oil I plan on trying coconut oil next.

Among a sea of mehs and blehs, I do have two new skincare favorites: Neutrogena Ageless Intensives Deep Wrinkle Anti-Wrinkle Serum and Eucerin Q10 Anti-Wrinkle Sensitive Skin Cream.

I’ve mentioned before the positive results I’ve seen from using Neutrogena’s Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Night Cream but that the retinol in it really dried out my skin. The Deep Wrinkle Anti-Wrinkle Serum supposedly contains a “refined” form of retinol called retinol SA. Whatever that is, I find that it’s treating the fine lines I have without causing the flakiness that the Neutrogena Healthy Skin wrinkle cream did. It has a light, gel texture and absorbs really quickly into the skin. The only downside is the scent. It smells like traditional Chinese herbal medicine. Aside from the funky ginseng smell, I would definitely recommend and repurchase it. If you liked the Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Cream but found it drying, you’ll probably like this.

Neutrogena Ageless Intensives Deep Wrinkle Anti-Wrinkle Serum

I’m also really loving Eucerin’s Q10 cream. It has a lovely, rich texture and, in my opinion, smells like margarine which I kind of like. The product is a great basic moisturizer, both in the morning and at night. I use it under the Burt’s Bees lotion in the morning, and under the olive oil at night. I’ll definitely repurchase once I run out.

Eucerin Q10 Anti-Wrinkle Sensitive Skin Cream

