Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator – Final Thoughts

I finished my tube of Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator at the beginning of October but I’m only getting around to blogging around it now. I’m such a procrastinator.

If you remember, I was sent a complimentary full-size tube of the Cooling Eye Illuminator directly from Estee Lauder for being a loyal Elle magazine subscriber. Elle magazine contacted me via email about a special opportunity to test a “prestige skincare product” and I accepted without knowing exactly what brand or product I’d be testing.

I received the product in the mail at the beginning of May and I’ve been using it religiously every day and every night since then. That’s approximately 5 months of usage for a $58 tube (0.5 fl. oz. / 15 mL).

Estee Lauder makes all sorts of claims about how this product depuffs, brightens and reduces under-eye darkness. I’ve been periodically documenting my progress with the Illuminator. You can check out my past blog entries about the Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator for more info:

If you need a reminder, here’s how I looked right before I started using the Illuminator:

Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator - Day 1

And here’s a photo I took of my under-eye area on the day I finished using the Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator for the final time:

After using Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator for 5 months

I think I’ve already said everything I wanted to say about the product in my old blog entries. To recap, I think the Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator is a fantastic skin luminizer/highlighter. It gives the skin an extremely natural dewiness without looking shimmery or glittery. It has a light creamy texture that absorbs easily, doesn’t feel tacky on the skin, and has no discernible fragrance. As for EL’s claims about the product fading dark circles, I haven’t really seen evidence of that. If you’re searching for a product that will reduce the appearance of dark circles I wouldn’t recommend the Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator. As for de-puffing under-eye bags, I didn’t have any to start with so I can’t really attest to that claim. It is, however, probably one of the best cheekbone or all-over face luminizers/highlighters I’ve ever used (way better than the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfectors which I thought were extremely shimmery and sparkly in comparison, especially under direct sunlight) but I can’t really see myself shelling out $58 for another tube. It was a fun product to try and I liked it but in my opinion it isn’t mind-blowing enough to deserve the price tag.

One thought on “Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator – Final Thoughts

Comments are closed.