L’Oreal Project Runway Sultry Raven’s Blush

Just a quick drive-by to post some swatches of my new-ish Sultry Raven’s Blush from L’Oreal’s Project Runway collection. I tried waiting for a sunny day to get some decent pictures but sometimes Mother Nature’s just not willing to cooperate and you’ve got to work with what you’ve got. Apologies for the sucky lighting and the fuzzy, slightly out-of-focus-ness.

I thought that with all of the blushes I own that I’d have something similar to Sultry’s Raven’s Blush among my stash but I couldn’t find an exact dupe.

Clockwise from top left: Jane Outspoken Pink, L'Oreal Sultry Raven's Blush, Milani Pink Craze, e.l.f. Mellow Mauve, NYC Park Avenue Plum

When I first got the blush home, I compared it immediately to my all-time favorite pink blush: Milani Pink Craze, a completely matte, bright, cool pink. Not surprisingly, Sultry Raven isn’t as bright, cool, or pigmented as Pink Craze.

Left to right: Milani Pink Craze, L'Oreal Sultry Raven's Blush, Jane Outspoken Pink

Left to right: Milani Pink Craze, L'Oreal Sultry Raven's Blush, Jane Outspoken Pink

In the pan, Sultry Raven’s Blush looks like a dirty, medium cool-pink so I compared it to some of the more brown, mauve or plummy pink blushes I own. Compared to those blushes, Sultry Raven’s Blush actually swatches lot lighter than I expected, probably because of all the silver micro-shimmer it possesses. Here’s just a quick example of how it looks next to NYC’s Park Avenue Plum and e.l.f. Studio Mellow Mauve.

Left to right: NYC Park Avenue Plum, L'Oreal Sultry Raven's Blush, e.l.f. Mellow Mauve

Although in the pan the three blushes all possess that dirty mix of brown, pink and purple/mauve, they swatch very differently. Mellow Mauve is warmer and has more brown while NYC Park Avenue Plum is a lot more rosy-mauve.

In the end, I swatched all the blushes in my stash and the closest match was Jane Outspoken Pink which doesn’t look all that similar in the pan. They’re both very subtle pinks but I wouldn’t call them dupes. Outspoken Pink is pinker with more of satin sheen whereas Sultry Raven, strangely, is a slightly peachier pink with a lot of silver micro-shimmer. While I love the soft texture of the L’Oreal blush I can’t get past the shimmer particles, and I definitely prefer the satin sheen of the Jane blush to it. Plus, the Jane’s just as soft-textured and is actually more pigmented. I find that with the L’Oreal blush I need to use a slightly rougher brush (i.e. Essence of Beauty Angled Blush Brush) than my beloved e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush to pick up and deposit more product on my cheeks. The color is much too faint when I use my softer e.l.f. Studio blush brush with it.

On a related note, I would not recommend NYC Park Avenue Plum. The color’s nice and it swatches okay but the blush doesn’t apply well onto the face. The product in the pan (brand spanking new) is packed extremely hard which, unless you’re using something scratchy like a toothbrush, makes it difficult to pick up product. I’m not knocking all NYC blushes though; their round-shaped mosaic blushes are fantastic.

And on a separate and totally unrelated note my current favorite snack is PopCorners which combines the taste of popcorn and the crunch of chips. It’s different from regular corn chips, like Doritos, in both taste and texture. I tried Popcorners for the first time on a JetBlue flight and I’m addicted. So far I’ve only tried the Kettle Corn variety, which is a tasty mix of sweet and salty. Yum. PopCorners also come in White Cheddar, Butter, Cheesy Jalapeno, and Sea Salt flavors. I can’t wait to try them all out. I think I’ve seen the brand at Duane Reade drugstores.

Popcorners - Kettle Corn flavor. Delicious!

