Nail polish haul – limited edition NYC, L’Oreal, wet n wild, Fantasy Makers, Sally Hansen

Mom and sis surprised me with a great “pick me up” in the form of a nail polish haul! They managed to find a lot of limited edition nail polishes for me which is even better since I have terrible luck locating LE collections for myself.

wet n wild Behind Closed Doors

First up: NYC’s limited edition Black Magic collection for Halloween. They know I like NYC’s Ultra Last lipstick formula so they grabbed a Blood Red lipstick ($1.99) for me.

From wet n wild’s limited edition On the Prowl collection: Behind Closed Doors ($1.99). I’ve read on many blogs that this is supposed to be a dupe for Deborah Lippmann’s Ruby Red Slippers.

From this year’s Halloween display of Fantasy Makers products: Black Magic and Creepy Pumpkin nail polishes ($1.99 each).

And the polish that has everyone out hunting for it: L’Oreal Owl’s Night nail polish ($4.99) from their limited edition Project Runway collaboration. Everyone on You Tube and in the blogosphere seems to be talking about this polish so I can’t wait to try it! It’s my first L’Oreal polish so I’m not sure what to expect formula-wise.

L'Oreal Owl's Night, Fantasy Makers Black Magic (2011), Fantasy Makers Creepy Pumpkin, NYC Ultra Last Blood Red lipstick, wet n wild Behind Closed Doors

Please excuse my chipped nail polish. I tried out a new color — e.l.f. Fire Coral — and while I really like the shade and it applied opaquely in one coat, it chips like a mofo! I applied Seche Vite top coat over it but it still started chipping on Day 3.

Fantasy Makers Creepy Pumpkin

L'Oreal Owl's Night (top), Fantasy Makers Black Magic (2011)

Indoor lighting doesn’t do justice to these two polishes so I really had to go outside and take some pictures in full daylight. In dim lighting, Owl’s Night looks like a boring black-brown color but in daylight it really comes to life!

The same goes for the Fantasy Makers Black Magic (2011) nail polish which you can’t really tell has copper and multi-colored shimmer until you step outside in the sun.

L'Oreal Owl's Night (top), Fantasy Makers Black Magic (2011)

Left to right: Fantasy Makers Black Magic (2009), Fantasy Makers Black Magic (2011)

One thing that I found strange and have to mention is that the Black Magic nail polish from this year’s collection is much different from the Black Magic nail polish that was released in previous years.

They come in nearly identical RIP tombstone bottles but the Fantasy Makers Black Magic polish that I purchased back in 2009 is a clear polish with multi-colored bar glitter. I love it! It’s great as a top coat over any nail color.

This year’s Fantasy Makers Black Magic nail polish, however, is totally different. I don’t think it’s as fun or exciting as the old Black Magic but since I don’t own very many black nail polishes I think it’s a great addition to my collection.

Top to bottom: Fantasy Makers Black Magic (2009), Fantasy Makers Black Magic (2011)

Top to bottom: Fantasy Makers Black Magic (2009), Fantasy Makers Black Magic (2011)

Left to right: NYC Pumpkin, NYC Backstage Brown, NYC Scenestealer Grey, Underground Purple

My favorite drugstore nail polish brand is NYC, specifically their Quick Dry formula. My mom and sis know this so they bought a bunch for me.

From the same NYC Black Magic collection that included the Blood Red lipstick, they got the Quick Dry polish in Pumpkin.

And then they purchased all the nail polish shades from NYC’s fall 2011 In the Spotlight collection: Backstage Brown, Scenestealer Grey, and Underground Purple.

I think the only Quick Dry polish I’m missing from NYC’s fall/Halloween collections is Blackula (a black creme) which I may have to hunt down. It is my favorite drugstore nail polish brush and formula after all, and black is always good to layer under other shimmer and glitter polishes.

NYC Pumpkin

NYC Backstage Brown

NYC Scenestealer Grey

NYC Underground Purple

Top to bottom: Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Time to Shine, Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Pumpkin Spice

Finally, from Sally Hansen’s summer collection which may or may not have been limited edition — I really don’t know — they got Time to Shine (which some have said is a dupe for Chanel Quartz) and Pumpkin Spice.

One thought on “Nail polish haul – limited edition NYC, L’Oreal, wet n wild, Fantasy Makers, Sally Hansen

  1. Nice haul! I need to keep an eye out for that L’Oreal one.. it looks rather amazing! I wish the older Black Magic had released again. I’d totally pick that one up in a heartbeat!

Comments are closed.