What’s Mimsy Eating? A lot of everything! (pic heavy)

I’m sorry that I haven’t been blogging as much as I’d promised but blogging has taken a backseat to real life. Just as I was in the midst of dealing with the plumbing problems in my house I found out that I needed to take care of my cracked driveway (it’s a “safety hazard” and a possible insurance liability).

To my giveaway winner: I haven’t forgotten about you! And I’ll be adding lots of extras. You’ve been very patient so I want to show you my appreciation 😀

Needless to say, it’s been very stressful here. Some people channel their frustration into sports (e.g. taking up kickboxing and beating the hell out of a punching bag) but I turn to cooking and food.

Here’s a look at some of the things I’ve been making and eating lately.

There are some great clearance sales going on at Target right now. I couldn’t find any clothing or accessories in my size that spoke to me, but I did find this waffle maker on 50% clearance in the kitchen section. Regular price is $9.99, and I got it for $4.98. I know it’s not a great quality waffle maker but I’ve wanted one for ages. I’ve never made waffles before. Not too long ago tv host/cook Rachael Ray featured breakfast, lunch, and dinner ideas using waffle makers on her show and ever since then I’ve been desperate to find one at an affordable price.

Belgian Waffle Mix and clearanced waffle iron from Target

I also purchased the Belgian waffle mix from Target for $1.97 (regular price). The waffles came out really good and I served them up with some whipped cream and Nutella. I literally ate waffles for breakfast, lunch and dinner one night. Belgian waffles for breakfast, grilled cheese & ham waffles for lunch and dinner, and more Belgian waffles for dessert 😛

Also, happy belated Mid-Autumn festival to all my Asian and non-Asian peeps! I pigged out on mooncakes and someone, I forget whom, sent over a box of white peaches. They were huge! Each peach was the size of two adult fists or Oscar’s head. They were soooo good. Ripe, so sweet, and so juicy. Seriously, the juice was running down my arm so much I ended up eating the peach over the sink so I wouldn’t drip all over the place.

White Peaches

White Peaches

I also made Italian sausage, pepper, and onion subs one night but had tons left over, so I ended up using that as a topping for homemade pizza another night.

Italian sausage, pepper, and onion pizza

I even sprinkled sesame seeds on the crust myself. The crust is usually my favorite part of pizza but when I do it at home it never comes out as good as the ones I get at the pizzeria, so at home I take the sauce almost to the very edge of the dough.

Italian sausage, pepper, and onion pizza

And last night I made French Silk Chocolate Pie. I even made the crust from scratch for a change instead of buying it frozen pre-made. It’s the first time I’ve gotten the fluted edge to look decent so I had to take photos to document it.

Both the recipe for the chocolate mousse filling and the crust came from Cook’s Country, the same people behind America’s Test Kitchen and Cook’s Illustrated magazine. I have a copy of the Cook’s Country magazine with the pie recipe but you can check out the recipes here and here online. You may have to create an account to view them but it’s totally free.

Cook's Country magazine

The crust recipe, in particular, was really easy to make; you don’t even need a rolling pin for it. Just press it into the pie plate with your hands and let it chill in the fridge. It’s not a flaky type of crust; it has more of a shortbread consistency — buttery, crumbly and tasty.

No-Fear Pie Crust

The filling: sugar, eggs, chocolate, butter, vanilla. Simple! (whipped cream was chilling in the fridge)

The most time consuming step is beating the egg mixture over a double boiler but it’s necessary in order to cook the eggs and develop a lighter, more airy texture in the chocolate mousse. It’s worth it in the end!

Beating the egg mixture

Beating the egg mixture with chocolate and butter

After folding in whipped cream into the chocolate mixture

Tada! French Silk Chocolate Pie

Tada! French Silk Chocolate Pie

Tada! French Silk Chocolate Pie

French Silk Chocolate Pie

3 thoughts on “What’s Mimsy Eating? A lot of everything! (pic heavy)

  1. The chocolate silk pie, yum!
    I totally missed out on mooncakes this year, the wait until next year is gonna be tough!

  2. Pingback: Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.