Rimmel Match Perfection 2-in-1 Concealer & Highlighter

Rimmel Match Perfection 2-in-1 Concealer & Highlighter

I’ve wanted to try Rimmel’s newest concealer, the Match Perfection 2-in-1 Concealer & Highlighter, ever since I heard Ginabinawina99 rave about it on You Tube. Back when she reviewed it, it was only available in the UK; however, it recently found its way to my CVS and I was only too ready to plonk down my cash for a tube.

The retail price of the Rimmel concealer was $6.29 (0.23 fl. oz. / 7 ml) but with sales and coupons I ended up paying about half price.

Despite the raves from Gina and other reviewers, my expectations weren’t too high. I’ve tried several Rimmel products and I’ve never really been wowed by anything from the brand. All the foundations I’ve tried from them have been total failures. They simply don’t make any shades pale enough for me. Everything is either too dark or too orange. For reference, I’d say I’m NC15-20.

My expectations weren’t raised when I saw that the Rimmel display at my CVS only contained three shades for the Match Perfection concealer: 230 Fair Light, 245 Light, and 335 Light Medium. Rimmel makes one lighter shade (125 Ivory) and one darker shade (430 Medium) but my CVS doesn’t carry either.  Seeing 230 Fair Light in the tube, I knew that it would be a little too dark as a facial concealer but it could possibly work well as an under-eye concealer. I’ve found that slightly darker peach or pink concealers work best for my dark circles. If I use a concealer that matches the rest of my face on my under-eyes it always ends up looking too light and ashy, even with a color corrector underneath. That’s why I always buy a lighter colored concealer for my face and a slightly darker one for my dark circles.

The Rimmel Match Perfection concealer comes with a built-in brush applicator which I’m usually against but I actually found that the brush controlled the amount of product that’s dispensed pretty well. I don’t know if my tube was defective or if this is normal but no matter how hard I squeezed only the tiniest bit of concealer was able to ooze out. Perhaps the brush applicator absorbed the product or maybe the brush plugs up the hole that the concealer comes out of, I don’t know. Whatever the reason, the brush allowed me to apply the concealer in very thin, even layers so the results didn’t look too heavy as I built the coverage up. I should mention that the brush is the tiniest bit scratchy but not unbearable.

Rimmel Match Perfection 2-in-1 Concealer & Highlighter

Compared to the few other concealers in my stash, the consistency of the Rimmel concealer is more thin and liquid like the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind concealer. It’s definitely not as thick and moisturizing as the Neutrogena and Revlon Age Defying concealers. The Neutrogena is a little thicker and creamier than the Revlon but it doesn’t offer nearly as much coverage as the Revlon Age Defying concealer.

I would say that the Rimmel concealer has buildable light to medium coverage, similar to the Neutrogena and Maybelline concealers. In my opinion, it would be ideal for people with normal/combo skin and minor to moderate under-eye darkness. I have dry to very dry skin and the Rimmel concealer, while I wouldn’t exactly call it drying, wasn’t moisturizing enough for me and didn’t offer enough coverage. I must say, though, that while it doesn’t fully conceal, the Rimmel Match Perfection concealer does a very good job at brightening my under-eye area so I can see why Rimmel calls this product a highlighter, too.

Rimmel Match Perfection 2-in-1 Concealer & Highlighter

Bare eye

Rimmel Match Perfection 2-in-1 Concealer & Highlighter (unblended)

Rimmel Match Perfection 2-in-1 Concealer & Highlighter (blended)

I recently purged a lot of items from my makeup collection so the items below are the only concealers I have left (I didn’t include any color correctors).

Clockwise from top left: Maybelline Instant Age Rewind (light), Neutrogena 3 in 1 Concealer (light), Revlon Age Defying (light medium), CoverGirl CG Smoothers (light), Rimmel Match Perfection (fair/light)

Left to right: Maybelline Instant Age Rewind (light), Neutrogena 3 in 1 Concealer (light), Rimmel Match Perfection (fair/light)CoverGirl CG Smoothers (light), Revlon Age Defying (light medium)

Left to right: Maybelline Instant Age Rewind (light), Neutrogena 3 in 1 Concealer (light), Rimmel Match Perfection (fair/light)CoverGirl CG Smoothers (light), Revlon Age Defying (light medium)

As you can see, the Rimmel Match Perfection concealer, unblended, looks rather light. When it’s still wet it looks a little lighter than the Revlon concealer. But once it’s blended out and has had a chance to dry and oxidize, the Rimmel concealer ends up looking a lot more peachy and dark compared to the Revlon concealer. So much for Match Perfection’s skin tone adapting technology. I personally wouldn’t use it as a spot concealer but as an undere-eye concealer Match Perfection’s peachy tones work pretty well at neutralizing dark circles.

Overall, I think the Rimmel Match Perfection is a good under-eye concealer but I still prefer the Revlon Age Defying concealer for its higher coverage and moisturizing properties.

2 thoughts on “Rimmel Match Perfection 2-in-1 Concealer & Highlighter

  1. Great review! I have a question, but it’s about the Neutrogena Concealer. I have the Revlon Age Defying Concealer and I find it powdery under my eyes. I would like to know what do you think about the Neutrogena Concealer vs the Revlon Age Defying Concealer? Thanks!

    • If you want sheerer coverage, the Neutrogena would be a good choice. It has a similar creamy consistency but it won’t look as heavy as the Revlon concealer.

Comments are closed.