Probably the most unglamorous makeup storage you’ll ever see

My Makeup Stash and Storage

This is a storage blog post rather than a stash blog post. I’ll do an updated stash blog post at a later date 😀

I admire and appreciate the time, money and effort others put into their makeup storage. There have been many times when I’ve been in awe of the amazing vanity tables, desks, and organizers that bloggers and You Tubers have purchased new. Even more amazing is when people buy their tables second-hand but then completely refurbish them. Really amazing stuff. But, me, I’ve never invested a lot in storage and I probably never will. I’m content if I have a box to dump my makeup.

With that said, here’s my totally unglamorous makeup storage. You’ve been warned. It’s pretty ghetto.

My Makeup Stash and Storage

These two boxes contain all of my eyeshadows, except for the really big palettes which are tucked away in the back of my closet. In their past lives, these metal boxes formerly contained cookies. Reduce, reuse, recycle! 😛

As you can probably see, there’s no rhyme or reason to how the shadows are arranged. As long as there’s a space for the shadows to fit, it’s all good. That’s why my Bobbi Brown palettes are slumming it next to a bunch of L.A. Colors palettes. Just between you and me, though, I don’t particularly like Bobbi Brown shadows. I find them chalky and unpigmented, and I really don’t understand the hype surrounding them. An unpopular opinion, I’m sure. The only reason I’m still holding onto my Bobbi Brown shadows is because they were a gift from my sis and I never get rid of gifts.

My Makeup Stash and Storage

These two black pouches contain all of my lip glosses. I purchased the skull pencil bag from the dollar section at Target. I don’t know if Target still sells these skull bags but I wish I had gotten a few more because it’s really cute. The other pouch is an Esprit bag from I’m not sure where.

These three boxes contain all of my backups, lip balms and eyeliners. The floral gift box houses a bunch of my long discontinued Milani Smooth Finish blushes as well as backups of some wet n wild highlighters, a Maybelline Dream Mousse blush, and a limited edition NYC Blush Stick. The two metal Cardcaptor Sakura lunchboxes in the center and right contain my lip balms and all of my creme/gel eyeliners (also a random Laura Mercier cake liner), respectively.

My Makeup Stash and Storage

The Corso Como shoebox on the left contains all of my pencil and liquid eyeliners as well as mascaras. The plastic container on the right holds all of my blushes. Jane Iredale, Milani, e.l.f., wnw, Smashbox, Illamasqua, Physicians Formula, Jane, Bobbi Brown, N.Y.C., Le Metier de Beaute, etc. They’re all in there.

My Makeup Stash and Storage

Here are two more of those plastic containers. I actually really love them. They’re only $1 each at Dollar Tree and I should probably go back for a few more. The plastic container on the left contains all of my lipsticks, and the box on the right contains all of my bronzers and highlighters.

My Makeup Stash and Storage

This old Esprit shoebox contains some of my most used nail polishes (wnw, N.Y.C., and Confetti brand).


All of the rest of my nail polishes live in this plastic trash bin.

My Makeup Stash and Storage

Here’s my tiny little makeup table that contains my basics.

The plastic cup holds my brow pencils, brow groomer, two e.l.f. studio blush brushes, e.l.f. Studio Small Smudge Brush (for concealing spots/blemishes), and the Sigma F80 brush.

My current body lotion — Aveeno Positively Ageless Firming Body Lotion — is in the back next to my sunscreens. I ran out of my Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry Touch sunscreen, so I’m testing out three others right now. There’s the La Roche Posay Anthelios 60 Melt In Sunscreen Milk, Banana Boat Baby SPF 50 Tear Free, and a Dollar Tree SPF 30 sunscreen. I have to say that after using the Neutrogena sunscreen all three of these feel super thick, but they all work well. They all claim to have broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection and I haven’t gotten any darker since wearing them, so I do believe they’re doing their job. I like the Dollar Tree sunscreen the least because it has the strongest sunscreen smell.

I have my two favorite highlighters laid out: the Eyeko Cream (original, not Extra Glow) and the Pixi Flawless Beauty Primer. I have a bunch of powder highlighters but I love these two cream highlighters the most and totally recommend them. I’ve said it before but I think the Pixi Flawless Beauty Primer is sooo much better than the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal. Much better. More people need to show it some love.

To conceal my giant pores I use the L’Oreal Studio Secrets Magic Perfecting Base and the SANA pore concealer (the one with the cartoon seal).

To keep my bangs/fringe out of the way when I apply my moisturizer, sunscreen and makeup I have a hair velcro which is shaped like a red bow with white polka dots. It’s really cute. I got it off of eBay for less than $1.

I have a L’Oreal Jelly Balm that I’m trying to use up. I wouldn’t recommend these. They’re not very moisturizing or hydrating.

To hide my horrendous undereye circles and/or blemishes, I use the Pixi peach corrector and Revlon Age Defying concealer.

I also have a bunch of face creams and facial mists arranged on the table which I’ve shown before.

There’s the N.Y.C. eyelash curler that I rarely use but out of all the ones I’ve tried (Shu Uemura, Revlon, e.l.f.) it’s the one that fits my eye the best. It’s not a perfect fit but I don’t bother curling my lashes most days so it doesn’t really matter as long as it doesn’t pinch.

Lately, the four blushes that I reach for the most are: Sally Hansen Inspired By Carmindy blush in Poppy, Physicians Formula Mineral Wear in Blushing Glow, Canmake Cream Cheek #05, and N.Y.C. Peach Glow. As you can tell, I’m really into peach and peachy pink shades.

I have a Victoria’s Secret body mist in Dream Girl that I often forget to use.

Lastly, I have a package of Care Bears baby wipes that I purchased from the Dollar Tree. I recommend these wipes to bloggers or anyone who swatches often. These wipes do a really good job of removing lipstick, eyeliners, blush, etc. whenever I take swatch pics on my arm. However, I would NOT recommend these wipes for removing makeup from your face since they contain alcohol. I tried it once and on my dry skin these wipes felt like a million tiny needles piercing my skin…or extreme chapping windburn on my face. Maybe those with oily skin could get away with using these as makeup wipes but dry/sensitive skin people should keep these away from your face. On a separate note, these wipes are also pretty good as makeshift furniture wipes for removing dust from tabletops.

So there you have it. That’s my makeup stash in some of the most unappealing, unattractive storage units you’ve probably ever seen. To add insult to injury, I stack these boxes on top of each other and shove them into my closet so they’re completely out of sight, and out of the way, most of the time. It ain’t pretty but it’s clean and organized.

6 thoughts on “Probably the most unglamorous makeup storage you’ll ever see

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself! Haha, the tins are pretty cute, especially the Cardcaptor ones. 😉

    At least your stuff is well organized, mine is sprawled all over my vanity (and bed, eek).

    Can’t wait to see your stash post!

    • Haha. Thanks 🙂 The tins were actually gifts. I went through an anime phase for awhile and Cardcaptor Sakura was one of my obsessions.
      My makeup was pretty unorganized until just recently too. A sudden urge to clean and purge suddenly overcame me this month and that’s the only reason why my stash is so neat now. LOL

  2. I like that you do not have fancy storage. I always see individuals with the fancy stuff and get a bit jealous.

    I have mine in old decorative boxes my mom had no use for. (since using those was cheaper than buying plastic bins). To than organize within the boxes I use those free makeup bags you get with purchases some times.
    aka it is pretty hodge-podge. but it works for me.

    • Thanks. Same here.
      Decorative boxes sound a lot more classy and pretty than my mishmash of shoeboxes, tins, and plastic containers 😀

  3. I’m always changing my makeup set up.
    Dude I’m glad I saw your blush collection..it’s awesome and I don’t feel to bad about mine. LOL I love blush.

    • Thanks. My blush collection was starting to get a bit out of hand. Once it doesn’t fit in a single container I know I need to downsize. It’s a major reason why I’ve been purging items from my collection and thinking about doing giveaways.

Comments are closed.