e.l.f. brushes…consistently inconsistent

e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush

As you all know the e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush is my holy grail brush. I use it every single day to apply blush but it’s also great for highlighting and contouring. I love how small it is compared to other drugstore price-range blush brushes. I own an Essence of Beauty Angled Blush Brush as well as the Ecotools Blush Brush and they’re simply too big for my cheek area. The brush heads are too large and cover too much area on my face; anytime I use these two brushes I end up with blush down to my mouth.

I love to apply my blush in a soft patting motion a la makeup artist & You Tube guru jungsaemmool. Check out her channel if you haven’t already because she’s fantastic at creating very natural makeup looks. Knowledge of the Korean language is not mandatory; everything she does is pretty much self-explanatory. I don’t understand Korean and I get by fine. I imagine that it would feel so soft and soothing if Jung Saem Mool did my makeup. The way she works is so different from the way Adrienne Arpel does makeup. Does anyone else love to watch Adrienne when she’s on HSN? She applies makeup so roughly on her models — so much tugging and pulling on their faces. I don’t watch Adrienne to get makeup tips; she’s just entertaining 😛

Anyway, enough rambling. Having finally found a blush brush that I love, when e.l.f. had that massive sale earlier this month I knew that I needed to get a backup.

When I finally received the blush brush I was disappointed but not surprised. My new e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush doesn’t look or feel anything like the Studio Blush Brush that I already had. The bristles are made of the same soft material but the new brush is not nearly as full, dense or compact as my old one. The new brush has noticeably fewer bristles, and the shape and cut of the bristles aren’t the same at all. I feel as if they sent me a completely different type of brush. I’ve purchased several other e.l.f. brushes before and I’ve never gotten two identical brushes. There are always glaring differences but I think I understand. In order for e.l.f. to offer such low, low prices they probably have to sacrifice quality control.

I originally planned on cleaning my old Studio Blush Brush to compare with my new Studio Blush Brush but it turned out that the clean bristles didn’t photograph well at all. It just looked like a black blob and you couldn’t see the individual bristles at all.

Clean Blush Brush that doesn't photograph well

I had to dip both brushes in some extra powder blush so the bristles would show up better in photos. Other bloggers show you their pristine brushes but I dirty them up just for you 😉

As you can see in the photos below, the new brush is rounder whereas the old brush is more tapered.

New e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush (top), Old e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush (bottom)

New e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush (left), Old e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush (right)

My old Blush Brush has more layers and there’s more of a gradation of bristle length from short to long. The layers help give my old Blush Brush more volume. The new brush also has layers but not nearly as much so the bristles lie flatter.

New e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush (left), Old e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush (right)

You can really tell from looking at their profiles that the old Studio Blush Brush contains more bristles and is more dense.

Side view: New e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush (left), Old e.l.f. Studio Blush Brush (right)

I need to test this new brush out for a longer period of time before I decide whether I like the change or not. Right now I think the shape, cut, and density of the new brush reminds me more of a foundation brush. I believe Essence of Beauty makes a foundation brush that’s kind of similar, so I may just try the new Blush Brush for foundation and see how that goes.

e.l.f. Foundation Brush (top), e.l.f. Blush Brush (center), ecotools Blush Brush (bottom)

One thought on “e.l.f. brushes…consistently inconsistent

Comments are closed.