NOTD: Essie Splash of Grenadine

Essie - Splash of Grenadine on my nubbins

I decided to give Essie nail polishes another chance. It’s no secret that Essie’s not my favorite nail color brand. I own quite a few of their polishes. Some are streaky, some require multiple coats, but all of them take forever to dry…like over 24 hours. The polish will feel dry to the touch, I’ll go to bed, and wake up with sheet marks on my nails. Ugh!

My newest Essie acquisition is Splash of Grenadine which is described as “a playful magenta pink” on the official website.

I have to say Essie’s finally impressed me. Splash of Grenadine is a shimmer-free, creme finish (my favorite!) that goes on super smooth and opaque in one coat. I didn’t experience any streaking and the polish dried really fast, especially for an Essie.

I would definitely recommend it but mostly for cool-tone ladies. Splash of Grenadine is just a bit too purplish for me and accentuates the yellow in my skin.

Essie - Splash of Grenadine

If you have a warmer skin tone, I strongly suggest checking out N.Y.C. Lincoln Square Lavender. The minute I painted my nails with Splash of Grenadine it reminded me of  the N.Y.C. Quick Dry polish. In person the two nail colors look extremely similar. Both are creme finish but Lincoln Square Lavender is a touch warmer and pinker, and I feel more flattering on a yellower skin tone.

N.Y.C. Lincoln Square Lavender (left), essie Splash of Grenadine (right)

Essie Splash of Grenadine retails for $8. N.Y.C. Lincoln Square Lavender retails for $1.99.

P.S. My nails look a little worse for wear because right after I painted them I was hit by a sudden urge to clean and purge all the junk in my house. Lots of scrubbing, wiping, washing, and heavy lifting was involved and my nails suffered for it 😛

