Bonne Bell Blushing Gel – Red

I purchased this Bonne Bell Red gel blush way back in January from a UK-based eBay seller for $2 shipped. I probably should have tried harder to get all the colors she had, but back then I had no idea how great they’d be. At the time, the seller also had Pink and Peach for sale. I bid on both but was outbid. Ever since then I’ve been stalking eBay hoping that someone would list more of these Bonne Bell gel blushes but so far I haven’t seen any for sale which sucks because they’re a fantastic product!

Unfortunately for those of us in the U.S., the Bonne Bell gel blushes can no longer be found in stores (to my knowledge) and can now only be purchased through the Bonne Bell website ($4.95 each + $5 shipping). Their webshop offers the gel blushes in Sheer Red, Sheer Peach, Sheer Pink, and Sheer Rose.

I would describe the Red blush as a transparent black cherry color with absolutely no shimmer or sparkle.

The texture is a very thin, almost fluid, gel that feels weightless on the skin once it’s blended. Once it’s set, it feels completely dry to the touch. There is no stickiness, dewiness or sheen to this product. This blush dries totally matte, as if the skin blushed that color naturally.

Compared to the Tarte True Blood Cheek Stain that I recently received the Bonne Bell Cheek Stain is more purple/berry in color which is unfortunate because, while I love the texture of the Bonne Bell gel blush, I don’t find it very flattering on my skin tone. I think Red looks like a purple bruise on my skin.

The Bonne Bell gel blush does have a very faint fragrance but it’s barely noticeable. It possesses an extremely subtle powder fresh scent.

The only real downside is that the gel blush sets pretty quickly. If you look closely at photo #7 on this page you can sort of see where the blob of gel blush was before I blended it into my skin. I swear it took me less than 3 minutes to snap a photo of the gel blush unblended and then another photo of the gel blush blended out, but in that time the blush had begun to set/stain my skin. This is not a blush that you want to let sit on your face unblended. Apply it to one cheek and blend it out, then apply it to your other cheek and blend it out or else it’ll look splotchy.

Although the blush stains/sets quickly, removal is very easy. No surprise since this is an oil-free, water-based product. A simple makeup removal wipe was enough to remove all visual traces but I still prefer to use an actual facial cleanser to remove my makeup.

I forgot to snap a picture of the packaging but here are the list of ingredients I found online:

Water, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Laneth-16, Celeth-16, Oleth-16, Steareth-16, Imidazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Fragrance, FD&C Red No.4, D&C Red No.33, FD&C Yellow No.5, FD&C Red No.40

Even though Red doesn’t suit my particular skin tone I do love the consistency of the product and plan on trying other colors. I think it’s way better than the Tarte Cheek Stains, and the fact that the Bonne Bell gel blushes are so much cheaper is an even better reason to get them instead.

Bonne Bell gel blush – Red

Bonne Bell Red (left), Tarte True Blood Cheek Stain (right)

Bonne Bell Red (left), Tarte True Blood Cheek Stain (right)

Bonne Bell Red (left), Tarte True Blood Cheek Stain (right)

Bonus Pic: Tarte True Blood Cheek Stain. Glitter!

7 thoughts on “Bonne Bell Blushing Gel – Red

  1. Pingback: Rigby’s Reads: August 2nd | Haute Hedgehog

  2. Pingback: Bonne Bell Blushing Gel – Peach « Mimsy's Blog

    • The Bonne Bell gel blush does not contain any shimmer, glitter or sparkle.

      If you’re referring to the last photo, that’s the Tarte True Blood Cheek Stain which has a TON of glitter.

  3. I used to use this Bonnie Bell gel blush in the 1970’s! I wish they still made it! It was so light and transparent – no shimmer – just light color

    • Thanks for the link but I ended up selling off my Bonne Bell gel blushes. They just weren’t as bright or pigmented as I would’ve liked and I prefer a dewy finish.

Comments are closed.