Rimmel Clean Finish Foundation

Rimel Clean Finish Foundation – 120 Ivory

I’ll try to make this short and sweet since I plan on returning this foundation to the store ASAP.

The Clean Finish foundation was released earlier this year exclusively at Walmart but is now more widely available. I purchased mine from CVS for $5.49 but I believe you can find it at Target and Walmart for under $4. I had $5 worth of CVS Extra Care Bucks so I actually got my bottle of Clean Finish foundation for $0.49 + tax.

I’m normally NC15-20 and I chose the lightest shade, 120 Ivory. In the bottle the color appeared rather neutral which was a pleasant surprise since Rimmel foundations usually run a bit orange/dark. Rimmel’s Clean Finish foundation in 120 Ivory appears lighter in the packaging than the lightest shade of their Stay Matte foundation.

My skin is dry to very dry, and I don’t have an oily T-zone or any oiliness to speak of. I’m quite used to applying heavy creams and moisturizers for my particular skin needs so the Rimmel Clean Finish foundation, in my opinion, has a very light cream texture and feels lightweight on the skin to me. But I’ve heard from oily/combo skin people that this foundation feels quite heavy to them. I guess it’s all about perspective and what you’re used to.

I can’t detect any fragrance or shimmer in this foundation.

I’ve heard oily/combo people say that this foundation has a dewy finish but I would describe the finish as a natural, near matte finish. Remember, though, that this is coming from a person with dry to very dry skin. My skin drinks moisture like there’s no tomorrow.

I find that this foundation spreads easily but dries very quickly, so I prefer to apply the foundation in sections on my face rather than all over at once. It doesn’t leave a sticky residue on my skin once it’s dried.

I can achieve a light to medium coverage with this foundation. I need to go over blemishes with a concealer but it covers my hyperpigmentation and freckles pretty well. It doesn’t look cakey or emphasize my dry spots and, while I wouldn’t exactly say it makes my skin look “poreless” as Rimmel claims, it doesn’t settle into my pores which I like.

The most interesting thing about this foundation is its applicator which is a slotted spatula. I suppose you could use the spatula to apply the foundation directly to your face, but I used the spatula to apply a blob of foundation onto the back of my hand and then used my fingers to apply the foundation onto my face.

Rimmel Clean Finish Foundation applicator

The reason why I have to return this foundation to the store is because it oxidizes REALLY badly on me. It goes from a rather neutral color to a dark, extremely pink/orange color on me. After 5-10 minutes it actually ends up looking about two shades darker on the skin than it does in the bottle.

The Rimmel Clean Finish Foundation seemed very promising. I loved the consistency and coverage but I can’t get past the color-change. And, personally, I prefer foundations with dewy finishes over matte.

Below, I’ve compared the Rimmel Clean Finish foundation to a few other foundations that are currently in my stash. I usually get rid of foundations right away if they don’t work for me; these happen to be the foundations that I’m currently testing. For me, the e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation works the best. It’s quite a bit thicker than Clean Finish, but it stays true to the color in the bottle and it doesn’t oxidize on my skin. The N.Y.C. foundations both go a little dark on me but the Skin Matching Foundation oxidizes less (turns less orange) than their Smooth Skin Liquid Makeup foundation. The Rimmel Clean Finish Foundation turns the darkest and most pink/orange out of all 4 foundations. It’s really quite shocking how much darker it gets as it dries. In the swatch below you can basically see the color transformation the Rimmel Clean Finish foundation undergoes from wet to dry. The wetter top of the Clean Finish swatch is much paler compared to the bottom, drier portion of the same swatch.

Left to Right: Rimmel Clean Finish Foundation (120 Ivory), e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation (Porcelain), N.Y.C. Skin Matching Foundation (686 Light), N.Y.C. Smooth Skin Liquid Makeup (677 Nude)

Rimmel Clean Finish Foundation ingredients:

Aqua (Water) , Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate , Dicaprate , Butylene Glycol , Coco-Caprylate , Caprate , Glyceryl Stearate , Isostearic Acid , Lanolin Alcohol , Triethanolamine , Talc , Cetyl Alcohol , Kaolin , Stearic Acid , Magnesium Aluminum Silicate , Steareth-21 , Stearyl Alcohol , Dimethicone , Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer , Phenoxyethanol , Caprylyl Glycol , Cellulose Gum , Xanthan Gum , Lecithin , Disodium EDTA , Steareth-2 , Sorbic Acid , Propylene Glycol Laurate , Propylene Glycol Stearate , Polysorbate 20 , Sorbitan Laurate , Hamamelis Virginiana Extract (Witch Hazel) , Laureth-4 , Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate , Retinyl Palmitate , Tocopheryl Acetate , Methylparaben , Butylparaben , Ethylparaben , Propylparaben , May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891) , Iron Oxides (CI 77492, CI 77491, CI 77499)

One thought on “Rimmel Clean Finish Foundation

Comments are closed.