Alba Botanica Coconut Cream Lip Balm

Alba Botanica Coconut Cream Lip Balm

I bought this lip balm several months ago at CVS for $2-$3 based on a lot of raves over at the MakeupAlley message boards.

The Coconut Cream lip balm comes packaged like your standard ChapStick, except the part you twist to get the lip balm out isn’t located at the bottom of the tube. Instead, the mechanism you twist is the ridged section located directly below the cap.

The fragrance of this lip balm doesn’t smell like real coconuts or coconut cream to me, both of which I often use as ingredients in recipes. Instead, the fragrance reminds me a little of those artificially flavored sugar-free hard candies that come in a Pina Colada flavor, except with an added waxy scent and a subtle sweetness. It’s not the most authentic coconut scent but I don’t dislike it or find it offensive.

The texture feels very smooth and creamy, and compared to the Lip Smackers 100% Natural Lip Balm in Guava that I reviewed recently it’s not as slick or slippery. The consistency of this balm is a bit less soft and “smooshable”, and a touch more dense. As with the Lip Smackers Guava balm, I notice that there’s an underlying grittiness in the Coconut Cream balm. However, grittiness aside, I do prefer the slightly thicker, less slippery texture of the Coconut Cream lip balm. Also, similar to the Lip Smackers Guava balm, the Alba Botanica Coconut Cream balm provides a glossy finish to the lips which I personally like because I can basically skip lip gloss when I use it.

As for wear time, the Alba Botanica balm lasts about 3 hours on my lips which is a little longer than the more slippery Lip Smackers Guava balm and typical of most stick balms for me. It’s decently moisturizing and doesn’t leave my lips feeling dry once it’s worn off.

All in all, I would say I prefer the scent of the Lip Smackers Guava lip balm but the texture of the Alba Botanica Coconut Cream lip balm. If you’ve been looking for a smooth, creamy stick balm but thought the Lip Smackers Guava balm was a little too buttery, you might want to give this one a try. I like it but it’s not the amazing, life changing lip balm I was led to believe.

Alba Botanica Coconut Cream Lip Balm

Alba Botanica Coconut Cream Lip Balm

