July Bye-Byes


This month I said farewell to a beloved lip balm and a lot of bad or so-so scrubs.

N.Y.C. Lip Sliders Tinted Lip Balm Sugar Angel – (I’ll just copy/paste what I wrote in May when I finished my N.Y.C. Sugar Kiss lip balm because my feelings and thoughts about these lip balms still remains the same.) This product’s okay as a glossy, sheer lip balm but I love it as an overnight lip treatment. It contains a bunch of moisturizing, natural oils and butters that help keep my lips soft. It’s too bad that they’ve discontinued this product but, luckily, I have several of these balms stockpiled and they should last me forever. If N.Y.C. still made these I would definitely repurchase.

Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control Power-Cream Wash – This contains 2% Salicylic Acid to treat acne and Glycolic Acid for a gentle chemical exfoliation. As you can probably tell from its name, this product is a creamy, non-foaming cleanser. As a person with dry skin, I generally prefer facial washes that don’t contain Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS, the ingredient that makes cleansers, soaps, shampoos foamy) as they can be very harsh/drying. While being SLS-free is good, this cleanser unfortunately contains menthol which is another dry/sensitive skin no-no. The Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control Power-Cream Wash has a cucumber-melon scent and has a minty, cooling effect on the skin. There are also tiny beads in the cream cleanser but they’re basically for looks and don’t serve any exfoliating function. Overall, I would say this product is a decent daily facial wash but nothing amazing, and definitely not something I would rely on to remove my makeup. I probably wouldn’t repurchase unless there was an awesome sale or it was on clearance for cheap.

wet n wild Fresh Face Skincare Acne Daily Cleansing Scrub – Some of you are probably asking yourself, “wet n wild has a skincare line?!” Yes, it’s true. Back in 2005-2008 wet n wild had a very short-lived skincare line that was subdivided into two ranges of products. One range was just basic skincare; the second was an acne skincare range of products. They made acne spot treatments, toners/astringents, facial cleansers, and scrubs. The best thing was everything in the skincare line was less than $5. I was a fan of their Acne Astringent which was a 2% Salicylic Acid, alcohol-free toner. Do you know how hard it is to find a 2% BHA toner that’s alcohol free? I know that Oxy makes alcohol-free, BHA pads but I prefer liquid which allows me to control the amount I use. I loved that toner. It wasn’t drying and it helped keep my pores clear.

As for the Acne Daily Cleansing Scrub…total misnomer. It’s more of a clear, gel-textured, mildly foaming cleanser. The scrubbing particles in it are way too sparse and much too small to do anything in the way of exfoliating. Imagine a factory worker at the wet n wild factory was eating toast and crackers while standing over a vat of of cleansing scrub and some of the crumbs fell in. That’s basically what washing my face with this cleansing product feels like.

As a scrub, it’s useless. As a basic cleanser (i.e. not a makeup remover) , it’s okay but I probably wouldn’t repurchase even if it hadn’t been discontinued.

[In case you’re wondering why I still have a scrub from around 2008, I actually went a little crazy when wnw put all of their skincare products on clearance and stockpiled a bunch of items. This particular bottle of the Daily Cleansing Scrub is the last of the many I had. At the time of purchase I didn’t know that it would turn out to be a mediocre product since I’d never tried it. I loved their toner and spot treatment so much that I assumed I would love the scrub too. Oh, well, at least I got it on 75% clearance.]

St. Ives Naturally Clear Apricot Scrub Blemish & Blackhead Control – ’tis the work of the devil! This is a very harsh scrub. I actually used it once on my face and used the remainder as a body/foot scrub. The exfoliating bits are non-uniform-sized crushed up walnut shell and corn meal suspended in a cream, and when I use it it feels like I’m rubbing my skin with sand. In my opinion, the scrubbing particles are much too large and coarse for the face. St. Ives actually makes three other apricot scrubs: the Invigorating Apricot Scrub, the Apricot Scrub for Sensitive Skin, and the Timeless Skin Apricot Scrub. Besides the Naturally Clear Apricot Scrub I’ve also tried the Invigorating Apricot Scrub (back in college) and that has got to be the harshest scrub I’ve ever used, much worse than the Naturally Clear Apricot Scrub. I definitely would not repurchase.

Queen Helene Mint Julep Natural Facial Scrub – If you have normal/combo/oily skin I would suggest trying this scrub instead of the St. Ives scrubs. Even though this scrub also uses walnut powder like the St. Ives Apricot Scrub, I find the particles in the Queen Helene Mint Julep scrub to be a lot more gentle. Unfortunately for me, this scrub contains SLS so I find it a bit drying for my dry skin. And, personally, I prefer scrubs that contain finer scrubbing particles such as Olay Microderm or Dr. Brandt Microderm in a Jar. The Queen Helene Mint Julep scrub smells exactly like the famous Queen Helene Mint Julep mask so if you like the way the mask smells, you’ll dig the scrub’s scent.

Queen Helene makes several other scrubs: an Apricot scrub, an Aloe Vera scrub, an Oatmeal & Honey scrub, a Cocoa Butter scrub, and a Pomegranate and Raspberry scrub. Of these I’ve only tried the Queen Helene Apricot Scrub and I wouldn’t recommend it. The particles in it are coarser and harsher compared to the Mint Julep Scrub. I should probably stay away from all apricot scrubs.


NUDE Skincre Facial Scrub – Lastly, I finished my NUDE Skincare Facial Scrub which has taken me forever and a day to use up. I have to say I really disliked this product. I would’ve thrown it away but it was a gift and I felt bad about getting rid of it, but I couldn’t motivate myself to use it consistently. It has a pudding-like texture and a very sparse amount of round beads suspended in it. The beads are virtually useless, so it’s basically like smearing pudding on my face; and since I don’t care for the scent (I say it smells like white lilies mixed with cooking oil), it was not a very enjoyable experience. I would not repurchase.

3 thoughts on “July Bye-Byes

  1. >WOW!! I can't believe you used that entire NYC lip tin! I have so many shades right now, and there is so much product that I can't imagine myself ever being able to finish. That's really cool though that you can use it as a night balm..that never crossed my mind. I will definitely try tonight so that I can actually work to finish these tinted balms :)If you want to stock up on some more…there are some currently at Dollar Tree if you have one where you live! 😀

  2. >@EVC Makeup LOL It took me around a year to finish that tin and I was pretty generous applying it to my lips at night. Yep, I love it as a nightly lip treatment. It actually remains on my lips the whole night. In the morning I just wipe it off with a damp cloth and it rubs off any dead skin, revealing moisturized fresh skin underneath.Thanks for the heads up on Dollar Tree :DGlad that you like the apricot scrub for your feet! Any scrubs that I don't like for my face usually end up on foot duty. It's a good way to use up stuff 🙂

Comments are closed.