Small Haul – new L.A. Colors 12-pan eye shadow palettes & N.Y.C. Urban Spice

I finally spotted the new L.A. Colors 12-pan eye shadow palettes at Dollar Tree that several You Tubers and bloggers have mentioned.

Now, the 12-pan palettes aren’t a new product in and of themselves; however, L.A. Colors has recently come out with a bunch of new shades.

I’ve been really interested in checking this new generation of palettes out because I own two of the older 12-pan palettes (i.e. Traditional and Urban) and they are le suck — very chalky and poor pigmentation — and I would not recommend any of those. However, the L.A. Colors trios that I purchased not too long ago really impressed me with their quality and pigmentation, so I thought that perhaps the new shades would have an upgraded, improved formula as well.

I spotted 8 new palettes – Candy Shop, Urban Camo, Mardi Gras, Twilight Kiss, Dinner Party, Roman Holiday, Beach House, Coffee Date. Perhaps there are more but those are the only ones my Dollar Tree carried. They also still sell the first generation sucky 12-pan e/s palettes — Traditional, Urban, Chic, Glamorous, Trendy, and Supernatural.


I chose Beach House mainly for the soft blue and green/aqua shades (so summer-y in my opinion), and Mardi Gras for the brighter, bolder colors. I also picked these two because they seem to have different finishes. Beach House appears to be more on the shimmery/satin side, and Mardi Gras more on the matte side. I haven’t had a chance to swatch them yet so I can’t say for sure.


If these palettes turn out to be awesome as the trios I’ll definitely head back for more. Even though they’re only $1 each I didn’t want to get too many because I’ve been burned by the 12-pans before. Hopefully, Version 2.0 is a lot better.


Then I headed back to CVS to grab an N.Y.C. Blushable Creme Stick in the shade Urban Spice. I’d always stayed away from this shade because I thought it would be too dark for me but in xteeener’s most recent You Tube video she used Urban Spice and it looked great on her. I decided since it was on 75% clearance and probably being discontinued that I had better grab it while I still could. It was only 99 cents (regularly $3.99).


It does appear to be shimmery so probably not the best for contouring but I plan to use it in place of blush. I think it’ll give me really pretty, glowy, sun-kissed cheeks.

I’ll post swatches on everything soon 🙂

4 thoughts on “Small Haul – new L.A. Colors 12-pan eye shadow palettes & N.Y.C. Urban Spice

  1. >how do you like urban spice. I got on sale at CVS too since it was $1. I liked how the creme wasn't sticky feeling. I had seen previously that you had purchased the creme sticks before. However I found urban spice made my cheeks look sunburnt. Do you have a blusher creme stick you'd recommend?

  2. >@sophiesdishI haven't tried it out on my face yet but I did swatch it. It's a lot more shimmery than I expected :(NYC made some blush sticks last year (or maybe the year before) that were really beautiful called Wild Berry and Pink Flash. Both had a creme/non-shimmer finish. Unfortunately, they were limited edition. I wish they would make more blush sticks without shimmer.

  3. Pingback: L.A. Colors – Beach House & Mardi Gras « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.