N.Y.C. Smooth Skin Liquid Makeup – Come out, come out, wherever you are…


I was excited to see the repackaged Smooth Skin Liquid Makeup at my local drugstore over the weekend. They were released earlier in the year but the shade(s) I was interested in were always sold out. I took that as a good sign because it must be a good product despite being insanely cheap ($2.99). The foundation itself isn’t new however. Only the spiffy, tall glass bottles are new.

I chose the second lightest shade, Nude, because the lightest shade, Ivory, looked too pink for me. Nude looks like it might be a smidge dark for my face so maybe I’ll have to go back and get Ivory to mix with it. I haven’t decided because I haven’t been able to use the foundation yet.

I immediately brought the N.Y.C. Smooth Skin Liquid Makeup home and fully intended to take some swatch photos. However…the bottle doesn’t come with a pump so I have to pour the product from the bottle but it won’t come out! I tried turning the bottle upside-down and pounding on the bottom of the bottle, like an old-school glass bottle of ketchup. Nada! I swear I spent a good 5-10 minutes hitting the bottom of the bottle hoping something would fall out. Let me tell you, it was a totally futile waste of time!

I actually left the bottle (capped, of course) standing upside-down overnight, hoping that that would make it easier to pour the product out the next morning. Nope, that didn’t work either. I looked inside the bottle the next day and the product hadn’t budged a single millimeter!


I guess I’m going to have to use a cotton swab or makeup spatula to reach into the bottle and get the product out, but what a pain! And if I end up liking the foundation, what’ll I do when I get past the halfway point and the spatula/cotton swab can no longer reach inside?

8 thoughts on “N.Y.C. Smooth Skin Liquid Makeup – Come out, come out, wherever you are…

  1. >woww I agree that it was a packaging fail! If it is so hard to get out, why did they make it glass x__x hope the product works out well for you though! (: I like NYC's nail polish haha~ I remember it used to be a dollar a while ago but I don't know if it still is ><

    • I ended up buying a small, long-handled metal makeup spatula from a beauty supply store in order to get the foundation out. Sadly, I ended up not liking the foundation so I got rid of it not too long after.

  2. I have had the same problem and I have been using the little triangle sponges, but once i get past the half way point idk what I’ll do.

Comments are closed.