Why me? Nail polish FAIL.


I mentioned in one of my recent CVS Clearance Haul blog entries that I love the Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure nail polish formula and brush. I must have jinxed myself.

Take a look at the wonky brush that came with my bottle of Sally Hansen Yellow Kitty. Looks like someone snipped a section of the bristles right off.


Normally, I would go back to the store and exchange it for another bottle of the same color of nail polish but this time I don’t think it’s worth it. I can see why it’s on clearance. The Yellow Kitty formula is very uneven but I don’t believe it’s due to the misshapen brush. I’ve heard that yellow polishes in general apply streaky so I don’t see the point of replacing it. A new bottle isn’t going to change the formula. I used 4 coats of Yellow Kitty on my nails before I gave up. I just couldn’t get it to look smooth and even.

And, yes, you can return/exchange nail polishes to CVS. I’ve gotten funky nail polish brushes before many times and I’ve never had a problem returning them, especially when I show the salespeople the defective brushes. I know I should check the brushes before I buy the nail polishes but I either forget or I feel embarrassed because the salespeople give me the stink eye. Yeah, I’m kind of a coward and very easily intimidated in situations like that. I think they think I’m using the nail polishes in the store.

My other FAIL of the week is that I didn’t realize I already owned other yellow nail polishes. I had totally forgotten. That’s when you know you have too much stuff.

—–

The polishes in the top photo are N.Y.C. Taxi Yellow Creme, Sally Hansen Yellow Kitty, and Sinful Colors Unicorn.

Taxi Yellow Creme was discontinued a long time ago but I managed to find it at Dollar Tree not too long ago. You may still be able to find it there.

Sally Hansen Yellow Kitty is on 75% clearance at CVS right now.

Unicorn is one of the newer, permanent Sinful Colors nail polishes that was released earlier this year so it should be the easiest to locate. I bought Unicorn at Duane Reade but I’ve spotted it at Walgreens, too.

5 thoughts on “Why me? Nail polish FAIL.

  1. >Aww that really sucks! I was going to pick that one up too, but remembered that I already have similar shades. I tend to gravitate towards the same colors haha

  2. >@EileenMe, too! I always go into the store with the intention of buying a color I don't already have, but later on I discover I already have a bunch of similar colors :P@KathrynUnicorn isn't too bad for a yellow. It actually applied better than Yellow Kitty for me. It started off pretty sheer and streaky looking like Yellow Kitty, but unlike Yellow Kitty it smoothed out and got more evenly opaque with each layer. I achieved pretty even coverage by 4 coats. There was a little bit of streaking but not awful like Yellow Kitty, and I fixed that easily with a layer of Seche Vite on top.

  3. >I found Yellow Kitty to be streaky too, but ok after three coats. That's a bummer that it sucked for you. It seems that CVS clearance items are final sale. I tried to return some lipsticks during winter clearance that I realized were used and the cashier almost didn't let me.

Comments are closed.