CoverGirl NatureLuxe Gloss Balm – Coral


Last month I received free full-sized samples of the CoverGirl NatureLuxe Foundation and Gloss Balm to try via BzzAgent. [If you want to know more about BzzAgent I’ve already written about my experience with the organization here.]

Expect the NatureLuxe foundation review to be posted within the next few days but for today I’ll be discussing the NatureLuxe Gloss Balm.

What CoverGirl says:
Get the sheer color and shine of a gloss with the soft, lightweight feel of SPF 15 balm. Fortified with mango and shea butter, this feel-good formula leaves your lips feeling decadent and delicious.

  • Combines the sheer color and shine of a gloss with the soft moisturization of a balm
  • Available in 16 versatile, beautiful shades
  • Formulated with SPF 15 for added protection
  • Suggested to retail for $6.49


The shade I received is 230 Coral, a shimmery sheer orange.

Let’s talk about the smell and taste of this balm first because to me they’re a major drawback.

The Gloss Balm has an artificial fruit punch smell which isn’t too strong or annoying in my opinion. The taste, though, is awful. I can detect a fake fruity taste but it’s nearly overpowered by a horrible, waxy, old lipstick flavor. It reminds me of a similarly packaged, cheap Naturistics Lip Gloss Stick I used to own back in junior high school that tasted exactly the same. Anybody remember those?

As for color, if you’re looking for a highly pigmented product that will give your lips the color you see in the tube you had better look elsewhere. The Gloss Balm in Coral provides the barest hint of color even when layered heavily.

To demonstrate I’ve taken some Before and After photos of the product on my lips. My lips aren’t very pigmented to begin with and Coral barely shows up on me.

My bare lips

Bare lips on the left-hand side. NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Coral on the right-hand side. One swipe.

NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Coral on both sides of my lips. One swipe.

NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Coral on both sides of my lips. Ten swipes.

As I hope you can see, Coral isn’t very deeply pigmented at all and it’s not amazingly glossy either. The color barely shows up on me so I can’t imagine it showing up on anyone with darker lips. As a lip balm it’s…meh. I’ve definitely tried more moisturizing, longer lasting lip balms before.

I actually prefer the Jordana Easyshine Lip Colors to the CoverGirl NatureLuxe Gloss Balm. Both have a similar texture. The Jordana Easyshines have a little more slip whereas the CG Gloss Balm is slightly drier but not by much. Both last as long on the lips. Understandably, due to their slippery consistency neither product lasts very long on the lips (an hour, tops) and you’ll need to reapply. Both come in a variety of colors (16 shades for the Gloss Balms, 12 for the Easyshines). Both give the lips a glossy finish but, in my opinion, the Easyshines are a bit more glossy. However, the Easyshines, while flavored/scented as well, don’t have that nasty old lipstick taste. And the biggest selling point: the Easyshines cost $1.99 versus $6-$8 for the CoverGirl Gloss Balm.

ETA: I forgot to mention that the CoverGirl NatureLuxe Gloss Balm contains 1.9 g (0.067 oz.) of product. The Jordana Easyshine Glossy Lip Color contains 1.9 g (0.07 oz.) of product.

The Easyshine shade that’s the most similar to the NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Coral is Mango Delight which is a shimmery sheer peach.


Mango Delight is more pink compared to the NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Coral.

CoverGirl NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Coral on the left. Jordana Easyshine Glossy Lip Color in Mango Delight on the right.

4 thoughts on “CoverGirl NatureLuxe Gloss Balm – Coral

  1. >I was thinking about trying the gloss balms but I think I can safely cross them off my wishlist now 🙂 It's sort of a nice feeling to be able to resist buying something since there are SO many products I want to try haha. I'm reading your BzzAgent post and it's really awesome how in-depth you talk about it. I think I'll join now 🙂

  2. >Maybe you will have more luck trying out other colors. I have the gloss balm in Peony and it is pigmented. It's not pigmented as that of a lipstick but there's color on your lips when worn.

  3. >Too bad the coral is so very sheer. I rather dislike lip products that appear colored and turn out sheer..such a bummer. Mostly because I'm on a coral craze and been just loving corals.

  4. >@AngelicBetrayalI know exactly how you feel. I love killing lemmings!@SallyOh, really? Perhaps I will. I think that in general Cover Girl makes nice lip products so I was rather disappointed with the Coral gloss balm. I'm definitely willing to give the Gloss Balms another chance if the other shades are more pigmented. Thanks for letting me know :)@sophiesdishITA!

Comments are closed.