Update on Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator

As promised here’s a photo update on the Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator that I mentioned in a previous blog entry.

If you recall, Estee Lauder claims that “In just 2 weeks, 90% of women saw a reduction in the look of dark circles and puffiness. Use it every day and your entire eye area looks more than a shade lighter.

I don’t really suffer much from under eye puffiness but I do have dark circles, so I was interested in seeing whether or not the Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator would do anything for the latter.

You be the judge. Can you see a difference? 

Here’s a photo taken on Day 1. Sorry, I forgot to take a completely bare-faced photo that day but I still think you can get a pretty good sense of what my circles look like. The only product I have on my face is the Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator under my right eye (on your left-hand side). Other than that, I have no makeup/skincare whatsoever on my skin.


And here’s how I look on Day 14 totally bare-faced. I’ve been applying the Estee Lauder product every morning and every night to both my eyelids and under eye area for the past two weeks.

I snapped this photo in the morning before applying the Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator and my other skincare.


I usually take my photos in the daytime in natural light. I tried my best to replicate the photo conditions of Day 1 but the weather’s been wonky and sunny/cloudy off and on all day. Any differences in lighting can be attributed to that and were beyond my control.

Honestly, when I look in the mirror I don’t see any major difference in the color of my under eye circles. But perhaps it’s been such a subtly gradual change that I can’t see it for myself and need an objective outside opinion.

Maybe my skin’s a slow learner and requires more time before visible results can be detected. I’ll continue to use the Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator until I finish the tube and periodically update you on my progress.

On a side note, I think the freckles on my nose are fading nicely. I believe it’s due to a combination of regular exfoliation (2x/week) and the fact that I’m trying to be extra diligent this year about applying sunscreen daily. I’ve also been using the My Beauty Diary Hello Kitty Strawberry Milk sheet masks (intended for whitening/smoothing skin) once a week for the past two weeks. I’ll post a short review on the MBD Hello Kitty masks soon.

2 thoughts on “Update on Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator

  1. Pingback: Update #2 on Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator « Mimsy's Blog

  2. Pingback: Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator – Final Thoughts « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.