What’s Mimsy Eating? Cake, cake, and more cake. Plus dumplings & pizza


Here’s a little look into what I’ve been eating throughout the past week.

First up, sis brought over some mini-cupcakes from Baked by Melissa. I really liked these because the cake was moist and the icings weren’t too sweet. They’re the perfect little bites when you’re craving something sweet. The flavors included are: yellow cake w/ vanilla icing & chocolate chips, chocolate cake w/ vanilla icing & chocolate cookie, chocolate cake w/ chocolate icing & peanut butter, yellow cake w/ peanut butter & chocolate icing, chocolate cake w/ marshmallow fluff & cookie dough, tie dye cake w/ vanilla icing & rainbow sugar crystals, spice cake w/ vanilla icing & cinnamon, red velvet cake w/ vanilla icing & red sugar crystals, yellow cake w/ fudge & peanut butter & chocolate icing, and chocolate cake w/ mint icing & chocolate chips.

—–

My sister also bought some pistachio cupcakes from Sugar Sweet Sunshine Bakery. They were good and I have to say better than the ones from Magnolia and Crumbs, in my opinion. The latter had cakes that were a little too dry and icings that were a bit too sweet for my taste. However, the pistachio cupcakes were a bit heavy handed in the almond/pistachio extract flavoring.


—–

I made a lemon chiffon bundt cake last week following a Martha Stewart recipe which you can view here. It’s a pretty simple, tasty recipe to follow but if you’re going to attempt it I would suggest initially reducing the sugar to 1/2 cup (instead of 3/4 cup). The recipe “as is” makes quite a sweet cake. [The clutter on my kitchen table was too embarrassing to show so I mosaic-ed it out using Photoshop :P]


—–

And before you think all I’ve been eating is sweets, here’s a look at a couple of dinners I cooked last week.

I made some pan-fried pork & chive dumplings. The dumpling skins were store bought and not a brand I usually buy; they’re a bit too thin (and yellow) for my liking.


This was the batch I made for my sis.


This was the batch I made for myself. I prefer a harder, crispier bottom.


Last but not least, some pizza that I threw together. The local grocery store sells fresh made pizza dough daily for $1.25 per bag, so I used that as the base. I stretched out and pre-baked the raw dough for about 5-8 minutes at 500 degrees, then I topped that with tomato sauce, shredded up some mozzarella, and cut up some canned pineapples and leftover breaded chicken. I popped all of that back in the oven for another 20 minutes and voila!

The reusable metal pizza pan underneath the pizza was purchased from the Dollar Tree 😀

3 thoughts on “What’s Mimsy Eating? Cake, cake, and more cake. Plus dumplings & pizza

  1. >Who's the doggie friend? :)I'm a big fan of Martha Stewart. Her recipes are always so reliable. I really should NOT have seen this right before dinner. Now I want dumplings! I love the crispy brown bits.

  2. >That's my little pal, Oscar (a Maltese/Shih Tzu mix). He turned 1 in March :)I agree! ❤ Martha Stewart.LOL, sorry about that. Yep, the brown bits are my favorite, too 😀

  3. Pingback: Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.