Weird Gadgets #3 and #4

Today I’ll be showing you two more random, weird, fun goodies my mother brought home for me from Taiwan.

First up, this red fabric and wood thing. If you live in Asia you might already know what is but for those of us in the West this will probably be a bit difficult to guess.


What is it?

When my mom first showed it to me I had no clue. I thought it was supposed to be a hand-held fan with a strange, curvy shape.

WRONG!


Turns out that it’s a sun bonnet/gardening hat.


Now that I’ve shown you the first item, you should have no problem figuring out the purpose of this next object.


Have you guessed what it is yet?

It’s a sun visor!
I’ve actually known about these for a long time but I’ve never seen one in person, and now I’m the proud owner of one!

Here’s a photo of how this hat is supposed to look when it’s worn. [That’s f(x)’s Victoria wearing the visor].


The visor’s not pulled down all the way in the photo above but when it is it actually covers the entire face. You can also swivel the visor up so that it sticks out horizontally like a traditional visor. I’m told that women and men in Asia wear these while walking, shopping, and even driving. Actually, here’s a photo of the sun visor in action!

The visor provides both UVA and UVB protection which is great.

You thought by wearing sunscreen everyday or carrying a parasol/sun umbrella that you were serious about sun protection? HA! You’re not even close to hardcore yet. ^.~

