Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator – Initial Impressions


You guys know how much I love freebies. Well, sometime last month I received an email from ELLE magazine asking me if I wanted to try full sized products from prestige brands. I’ve been an ELLE subscriber for a few years now but I really didn’t think it was a legit email. I figured it was possibly some phishing scam but I clicked on the link in the email and filled out the survey anyway. I didn’t think I had much to lose.

Well, guess what, it was for real!

This past weekend I received a box in the mail from Estee Lauder with a full sized tube of their new Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator.

According to the information card they provided a 0.5 fl. oz/15 ml tube retails for $58.

The product’s so new it’s only available for pre-order from the Estee Lauder website, and doing a basic search on the internet it won’t hit Estee Lauder counters until June 2011. How cool is that? I love being one of the first to try a product.

Estee Lauder says, “With every cool touch of this first-ever, specially contoured ceramic-tip applicator, eyes look brighter. In just 2 weeks, 90% of women saw a reduction in the look of dark circles and puffiness. Use it every day and your entire eye area looks more than a shade lighter.

These are the product instructions and list of ingredients.


The Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator is available in two shades. I received it in the shade Light-Medium. The other shade they make is Medium-Deep.

The applicator is made of ceramic and feels cold against the skin.

The product has a light cream texture that absorbs very easily into the skin and doesn’t leave a sticky or heavy residue. It doesn’t have much of a fragrance to it either. When I first squeeze it out, it smells faintly like non-toxic Elmer’s glue but the scent fades almost immediately as I rub it into my skin.


The Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator has a very subtle cream-colored tint that blends out invisibly on the skin. It does, however, possess an extremely fine microshimmer which is where the illuminating part comes in. Can you see it on the right side of my hand in the photo below?


Today’s the first day I’m using the product under my eyes. I’m interested in seeing if Estee Lauder’s claims are true and whether I’ll see a noticeable difference in two weeks’ time.

I did eventually apply the product under both eyes but first I wanted to show you the illuminator in action just on one side of my face. The lessening of undereye darkness is supposed to take awhile but the product also claims to brighten the undereye area.

I squeezed out a little dot of product and dabbed it onto my under eye area. Then I smoothed it out with the ceramic-tip applicator and patted it into my skin with my ring finger.


Can you see a difference from one eye to the other? I don’t know if I can.


Here’s a closeup of my eye once the illuminator has been applied and absorbed. I’m not sure I see a brightening effect but the Illuminator provides such a subtle, soft, natural dewiness to the skin. The microshimmer is hardly noticeable.


As a dry-skinned gal who loves the moist dewy look of healthy, hydrated skin but dislikes obvious shimmer I’m liking the product so far. I’m not sure if it will really do anything for my dark circles — I’m really skeptical about that claim — but I think this would actually make a fantastic albeit expensive face highlighter/illuminator. In my opinion, it’s way nicer than the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal that I was able to try recently. Now that was a shimmer bomb on the skin (think sparkly Twilight vampires in the sunlight) compared to the Estee Lauder illuminator.

I’ll report back in two weeks on the results. Although I’m not totally convinced this product will work I still have some expectations because I’ve had success with another Estee Lauder product (i.e. Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex). Let’s hope the Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator doesn’t let me down.

6 thoughts on “Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator – Initial Impressions

  1. >I like the color that you swatched. I wonder if it's like smashbox's photo eye brightener. It was similar where it's suppose to brighten my eye area but I felt it didn't do much.

  2. >Looking forward to your progress with this new product. It cost a lot for a little so your valuable comments are appreciated!

  3. Pingback: Update #2 on Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator « Mimsy's Blog

  4. Pingback: Update on Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator « Mimsy's Blog

  5. Pingback: Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator – Final Thoughts « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.