It’s that time of the year again…

Yep, time to buy Girl Scout Cookies 🙂

My sister always gets the Thin Mints or Samoas every year but I always go for the Do-si-dos or Lemon Chalet Cremes.

This year I only bought one box of Lemon Chalet Cremes. They’re one of my favorites because they’re not too sweet. The lemon creme in the middle has a slight tartness to it, and the cookie on the outside is a little bit sweet and cinnamon-y.

The Little Brownie Bakers company makes the Lemon Chalet Cremes for the Girl Scouts and this is the description of the cookie from their website:

  • Featuring a design of Our Chalet in Switzerland, a beloved Girl Scout® World Center, this sandwich cookie has a touch of cinnamon-ginger spice that evokes the warmth of a fireside chat on a snowy evening.

I’m not sure if I taste the ginger. To me the cookies taste/feel kind of like lemony animal crackers. 

Apparently there are two different bakers who supply Girl Scout Cookies.

In my area, the supplier is Little Brownie Bakers and they make the Samoas and Do-si-dos. The ABC Smart Cookies versions of the same cookies are called Caramel deLites and Peanut Butter Sandwich. I hear that although the cookies look the same there are major differences in flavor (between the two bakeries).

Little Brownie Bakers’ Lemon Chalet Cremes are different from Lemonades which are made by ABC Smart Cookies. The latter are shortbread cookies with lemon icing on one side, and the size of these cookies is larger than the Lemon Chalet Cremes.

 

 

This is the description for the Lemonades from ABC Smart Cookies’ website:

Savory slices of shortbread with a refreshingly tangy lemon icing.

I’ve never tried Lemonades but they sound yummy. I love shortbread cookies and almost anything lemony although the “savory” part is throwing me off a little.

One thought on “It’s that time of the year again…

  1. >oh this reminds me that I really want to make homemade lemon cookies. When I use to be a girl scout my favorite cookies were the ones with caramel and chocolate. hmm.. can't remember the name but they were good!

Comments are closed.