L.A. Colors – Boardwalk

I know I said that I was done buying orange colored products but when I spotted this trio at the Dollar Tree today I simply had to get it. For $1, how could I not? 😉 

I’m not sure if the trios are new L.A. Colors products but they’re definitely new to my local Dollar Tree. My DT store usually only carries the 12-pan and 6-pan L.A. Colors palettes.

There was a green trio, which I may go back for, among others but the Boardwalk trio immediately caught my eye. It contains a mustard gold, orange, and bronzed brown. All three shades have a shimmery sheen.

Besides working as an eye shadow, the middle orange shade can be used as a pretty blush and is perfect for the Spring/Summer orange cheeks makeup trend. The color goes on pretty sheer with my blush brush and not much of the shimmer transfers to my face, so if you’re concerned about clown cheeks or frosty, metallic cheeks no worries. The color’s buildable and you can buff most of the shimmer away.

The yellow shade is nice but sheerer compared to the other two colors. Don’t worry, though, it’s quite easy to build up the color.


I’ve only tried the L.A. Colors 12-pan eyeshadow palettes in the past and I’ve got to say that in comparison the shadows in the trio have better textures and pigmentation. I wasn’t impressed with the 12-pans at all; in my experience, they were chalky and had very poor color payoff.

I know that the orange Nicka K eye shadows I’ve blogged about recently can be a little difficult to find, especially if you don’t have access to a beauty supply store. This L.A.Colors Boardwalk trio is a good, inexpensive option if you’re on the hunt for orange cosmetics.

Also, the orange, gold and brown shades mean this trio will be perfect for various Summer (golden/bronze-y beach or tropical sunset-inspired) and Autumn (harvest/foliage-inspired) eye looks.

For a $1 trio that will carry you from Spring well into Fall, these shadows are a lot better than many other drugstore options and a great value!

6 thoughts on “L.A. Colors – Boardwalk

  1. Pingback: L.A. Colors – Sand Dune « Mimsy's Blog

  2. Pingback: L.A. Colors – Lemon Grove « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.