Introducing my $4.98 eBay watch

I used to shop a lot on eBay but that’s sort of waned in recent years. But lately I’ve been into watches and I’ve started buying off of eBay again.

I’m not really interested in investing a lot in watches. They’re functional, yes, but to me they’re mostly trendy fashion pieces. Trendy being the key word. I don’t need my watches to stand the test of time and last for ages and ages. I want to be able to switch them out depending on the season or my outfit or my mood.

With that in mind, I’ve been hunting on eBay for pretty or cute watches that also happen to be CHEAP. Most of the watches that fit my requirements are from sellers in Hong Kong. No surprise. It seems to be the mecca of inexpensive goods.

I have a few watches from several different HK sellers on their way to me right now but the watch that I’m showing you today is the first to arrive (I’ll be sure to blog about the other watches when I get them). It’s a stainless steel bracelet-style watch that I think is kind of elegant and not too cheap looking. And, in my opinion, the larger watch face is kind of cool and a nice contrast to the skinny, more feminine watch band.

It’s $2.99 with $1.99 shipping and it took less than a week for me to get the watch in the mail. I’ve ordered things from HK before and usually I have to wait 3-4 weeks for them to arrive, so this was extremely fast.

In person the watch looks exactly like the watch photos in the seller’s eBay listing so there was no bait and switch. I’ve had that happen to me before where the item in real life looks nothing like the pictures đŸ˜¦


If you’re interested I’ll link the watch here. The seller still has some available and there are better pictures of the watch in the eBay listing page. I’m not affiliated with the seller in any way except for being a satisfied customer.

Just be aware that the watch isn’t waterproof and the bracelet/watch band is not adjustable in length. I haven’t taken out my ruler to confirm but according to the listing the band is 19 cm, so I would only recommend this watch to ladies with slim wrists. On me the watch bracelet remains a little loose (meaning it’s not skin tight on my wrist) and can slip up my forearm a little bit. I like it because it feels/looks more like jewelry that way. Also, I have some doubts about the clasp closure and how secure it is. I’m a little worried that it’ll open up while I’m wearing it and the watch will fall off. So far it seems okay but I guess all I can do is wear it around and see what happens.

2 thoughts on “Introducing my $4.98 eBay watch

  1. Pingback: Introducing eBay watches #3 and #4 « Mimsy's Blog

  2. Pingback: Introducing eBay watch #2 « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.