NYX Jumbo Lip Pencil – Coffee & Soft Fuchsia

I bought the NYX Jumbo Lip Pencil in 721 Soft Fuchsia a few months back and I think I may have even mentioned it in a haul, but it rolled off my dresser and I totally forgot about it. I only rediscovered it the other day while I was cleaning. As for the NYX Jumbo Lip Pencil in 717 Coffee, I purchased it over the weekend from the beauty supply store literally hours before I found Soft Fuchsia again.

Both pencils cost $1.99 each and contain 5 g / 0.18 oz of product.

I was so excited to try both products but as it turns out I don’t think they’re very good 😦

I had been searching for some wearable, work friendly shades and Soft Fuchsia and Coffee stood out to me.

Soft Fuchsia is a total misnomer. There’s nothing fuchsia about it at all. Rather, it’s a non-shimmery, medium rosy pink.

I think Coffee must have been reformulated recently because it’s nothing like the reviews I’ve seen online which describe it as a brown or taupe-y color (here and here). My 717 Coffee pencil is a non-shimmery, milky peach that’s almost as light as my natural lip color.

The colors are gorgeous but the minute I swatched them on the back of my hand I knew that the consistency wouldn’t work for me. The texture is extremely creamy. Creaminess in lip products generally isn’t a bad thing but when the texture is also on the thinner side that leads to problems.

That’s exactly the problem with the NYX Jumbo Lip Pencils. They’re creamy but thin and slippery, too. The consistency’s so thin and sheer that I had to go over my lips a few times with the pencil to get even coverage. Also, when I applied the pencil to my lips the color settled immediately into fine lines (not pretty!), and as I wore the lip pencil for a longer period of time I noticed the lip color slipping and sliding around my lips, eventually bunching up in the area where my upper and lower lip meet.

In the first photo below, I’m wearing NYX Coffee on the right side (your right) only. The left side is bare.


I’m not a fan of the finish which, in my opinion, makes my lips look drier and dries them out as well.

In the photo below, I’m wearing Coffee on both the right and left side.

