wet n wild Egyptian Sands & Walking on Eggshells: They’re not the same


I’ve heard from different people that the Color Icon trio in Walking on Eggshells is “an exact dupe” of wet n wild’s discontinued Mega Eyes trio in Egyptian Sands. A couple of people actually made similar comments just the other day on a beauty message board and I thought to myself, “Damn, I just bought the Walking on Eggshells trio and I already have the Egyptian Sands trio. Did I waste my money buying the same thing?”

I decided to pull out my Egyptian Sands trio to double check, and here’s what I discovered: they are NOT exact dupes. 

Obvious differences in packaging aside, the new Color Icon trios have a much better, improved formula than the Mega Eyes trios. The Color Icons are as pigmented (in some cases even more pigmented depending on the trio) as their predecessors, but they’re also smoother and far less powdery/chalky in texture.

While the colors in the Egyptian Sands and Walking on Eggshells trios are very similar, they are not exactly the same.

The lightest shade in the Egyptian Sands trio is extremely chalky in texture and, compared to the lightest shade in the Walking on Eggshells trio, it’s more of a yellowish white/ivory color. Next to that, the lightest shade in the Walking on Eggshells trio looks cooler toned.

The difference between the two mid-tone shades is a lot more obvious. The shade in the Egyptian Sands trio is more of a bronzed peach whereas the one in the Walking on Eggshells trio is more of a champagne pink.

There are subtle differences between the two dark brown shades as well. The one in the Egyptian Sands trio has an orange/red tinge compared to the brown shade in the Walking on Eggshells trio.

ETA: I decided to include the photos of the ingredients lists of both trios which are very different. The two trios don’t even use the exact same dyes (some are the same but there are some colorants that one trio has but the other doesn’t).

Mega Eyes Egyptian Sands trio

Color Icon Walking on Eggshells trio

3 thoughts on “wet n wild Egyptian Sands & Walking on Eggshells: They’re not the same

  1. >@JustineGreat! I can't wait to hear what you think :)@AngelicaLOL The worst is when I forget I've already bought something and go out and buy the same exact product again. Then I really have no excuse T_T

Comments are closed.