Rant: Maybelline Dream Mousse Concealer

As you can probably tell from the bright yellow sticker, I purchased the Maybelline Dream Mousse Concealer from CVS’s semi-annual clearance sale. I mentioned it in my haul post awhile back. I can’t remember exactly how much I paid but with the 50% markdown and a coupon, I believe I paid around a dollar and some change.

I’ve had pretty bad luck with Maybelline concealers in the past. Their Instant Age Rewind Double Face Perfector and Mineral Power concealers were disappointing. Both concealers weren’t pigmented or moisturizing enough for my dry to very dry skin type. I swore to myself that I would never waste money on Maybelline concealers ever again but I admit curiosity won out in the end and the sale price sealed the deal.

I should’ve listened to my gut instinct. Buying this concealer was a HUGE mistake. All I can say is ewww, yucky. The coverage isn’t enough for me. No surprise. But it’s so cakey, settles into fine lines, creases, and makes my skin look so much drier.

In order for the concealer to cover anything I had to build it up, but in doing so I ended up with an even cakier result that creased worse. I used two thin layers of the concealer because one layer of the concealer didn’t cover squat.

Pictures speak a thousand words.

Bare eyes. No concealer so you can see how dark my under-eyes are normally.

Concealer on right under-eye (your right-hand side) only. Left side is bare. I had to build it up to be able to cover anything.


This is how the concealer looks close up.

The horror! The horror!

Blech! It’s so dry and cakey. The Revlon Age Defying Moisturizing concealer, another item I picked up from the CVS clearance sale, is so much better than this.

I used a couple of methods to apply. The first time, I used my fingers which didn’t look so hot. And on a separate occasion, I used a fluffy eyeshadow blending brush to apply. I wasn’t happy with either application.

The color of the concealer — I chose Cream (Light 4-5) — actually isn’t too bad. I typically buy under eye concealers that are darker than the rest of my face because concealers that match the rest of my face tend to look very ashy and light when used for my under eyes (even with a color corrector underneath). I usually buy one concealer specifically for my under eyes and another concealer strictly for the rest of my face.

The Dream Mousse Concealer is on the peachy side which is usually good for neutralizing dark circles. The consistency and finish is what kills it though. There’s just no way of making it work on my skin.

I did try the Maybelline concealer on the rest of my face as a spot concealer but I’m a little paranoid about showing my whole face on camera so you’ll just have to trust me when I say I had equally bad results there. This concealer really exaggerates/accentuates dry skin. I think that even swatched on the back of my hand you can see how dry the concealer looks. Also, while Cream is a good color match for my dark circles it’s slightly too dark/too peachy for the rest of my face.

As the name would imply, this Maybelline concealer has a mousse-like consistency. I have a bunch of Maybelline Dream Mousse blushes, bronzers and eye shadows, and I’d say that compared to them the Dream Mousse concealer is more creamy, feels more moist, and has less of that air whipped texture. It also feels less silicone-y than the Dream Mousse cheek and eye products.

The finish is matte…too matte…unnaturally matte for me. Generally, I find that concealers with more moist, dewy finishes look better and more natural on my skin.

I’m going to give the Maybelline concealer to my sister. It may work better for her. She has the complete opposite skin type and is super oily.

7 thoughts on “Rant: Maybelline Dream Mousse Concealer

  1. >I bought it a year ago and I got the same result! It just wears so unnaturally on me, cakey and sinking into my fine lines. Even on sale, some things are still a waste of money. :/ I gave it to my mom and she didn't like it either. Maybe Maybelline will add a revamped concealer to the dream smooth mousse collection.

  2. >Have you tried dabbing on a light moisturizer under your eyes before applying it on? I have the same problem w/this concealer but I've learned that a little moisturizer makes a really big difference 🙂

  3. >@AngelicaGlad to hear I'm not alone. I really wanted to like this concealer but I guess it's one of those products you either love or hate.I hope they come out with a new, improved concealer but I'm not sure if I would even want to try it. I've been burned by Maybelline concealers too many times :p@Rainy Days and LattesYep, I tried that. The moisturizer helped it apply a little more smoothly but it still had that super dry looking finish on me. I think Maybelline concealers just don't agree with me 😦

  4. >@aisyah De CullenThanks for the suggestion 🙂 I tried it but I don't think the Dream Mousse Concealer and I were meant to be friends. The finish is just too matte/powdery looking for my skin.

  5. >I can't use it under my eyes either. I have combination skin, super oily t-zone but my under eye area seems dry to me, as does the outside of my face. My fine lines aren't bad but wearing this concealer really highlights them and adds at least 10 years to my face! Not a good thing. Because of my oily skin on the rest of my face, it's not bad for spot concealing though, so for me it's not a total loss.

  6. Pingback: Pixi Correction Concentrate – Brightening Peach « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.