Spotted at the Dollar Tree: N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powder in Peach Glow

N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powder in Peach Glow

My local Dollar Tree store recently received a huge shipment of N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powders in the shade Peach Glow. Yep, that’s right, a shipment of only this shade which leads me to suspect that N.Y.C. is either:

1) discontinuing this particular shade or
2) they’re repackaging all their products with the updated 2011 logo design (much like they’ve done with the 99 cent nail polishes and Liquid Lip Shines lip glosses already) and getting rid of the blushes with the old package design.

I’m sort of leaning towards the first option because in the CVS and Duane Reade drugstores near me (there are about 3 stores of each in my vicinity) I’ve seen store employees actually pulling Peach Glow from the shelves while letting the other shades of Color Wheel Mosaics remain in the N.Y.C. display. Also, several months back I spotted several N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powders at the Dollar Tree but the particular shades that made an appearance there were limited edition colors that had long been discontinued. Back then, I did not see shades from N.Y.C.’s permanent line much to my relief. But now that Peach Glow is popping up there, I’m worried. Usually, when a drugstore product show up at the Dollar Tree it means it’s discontinued.

If N.Y.C. really is discontinuing Peach Glow it’s a huge shame because I think it’s not only one of N.Y.C.’s best blushes but one of the best drugstore peach blushes in general. I don’t really care for N.Y.C.’s rectangular shaped Cheek Glow blushes but the round Color Wheel Mosaic blushes are fantastic! I’ve actually featured several of the Color Wheels before in a few of my “Monthly Favorites” blog entries, Peach Glow being my favorite shade of the bunch.

If you’re on the hunt for a great peach blush, I highly recommend N.Y.C. Peach Glow. It usually retails for $4.99 at the drugstore and, in my opinion, it’s worth every penny of that price tag and a whole lot more. It’s a beautiful color, smooth in texture, and nicely pigmented yet buildable in color.

For $1 at the Dollar Tree how can you resist? Seriously, get it. 

Peach Glow is up there on my list of all-time favorite drugstore blushes. I’d place it alongside Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Blush in Blushing Glow, another awesome drugstore peach blush that I’ve gushed about on my blog.

N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powder in Peach Glow

N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powder in Peach Glow

In terms of color N.Y.C. Peach Glow is very similar to Physicians Formula Blushing Glow. Peach Glow is a mosaic composed of pink, beige and peach blocks of color, and when you swirl them all together you get a gorgeous peach blush. In comparison, Blushing Glow is a little more pink. I’m not sure if my camera is picking up on that but the slight pinkness of Blushing Glow is more apparent in real life.

N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powder in Peach Glow

N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powder in Peach Glow

Don’t be intimidated by the “Glow” in the name Peach Glow. Contrary to its name, it’s actually quite matte. If I look super close at it, a few blocks of color in the mosaic contain an extremely tiny bit of shimmer but the shimmer doesn’t transfer onto my face at all.

It truly is a hidden drugstore gem because most people seem to overlook N.Y.C. as a brand when shopping for cosmetics, but if my word isn’t enough to convince you to run out and get Peach Glow how about checking out the reviews on Makeup Alley. It’s very highly rated.

Or how about taking Tao/iamgrape1119’s word? She’s one of my favorite You Tubers/bloggers and she’s raved about this blush and counts it among her favorites. She calls it a Benefit Georgia dupe. (She starts talking about Peach Glow at 4:45 in the video.)

Still not enough to convince you?

How about the word of Mario Dedivanovic, Kim Kardashian’s makeup artist? He’s blogged about using N.Y.C. Peach Glow on Kim Kardashian, and his makeup for Kim was featured in a “Look for Less” article for People Style Watch. And, get this, the N.Y.C Peach Glow blush wasn’t listed on the right-hand side with the drugstore products to dupe the look. It’s on the left-hand side with the products Mario says he actually used on Kim. So now you can see that it works not only on lighter skin tones like mine but on darker skin tones like Kim K’s. Like I said before, Peach Glow is a fantastic blush!

6 thoughts on “Spotted at the Dollar Tree: N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powder in Peach Glow

  1. >I got this because of Tao too! And I agree about the regular blushes, the formula of those are sooo chalky. The bright side is that you can stock up on it cheaply. And a few back up's should last you a lifetime. Thanks for the tip, I'm heading to Dollar Tree as I speak. 🙂

  2. >I haven't tried Peach Glow, but I have the Pink Cheek Glow mosaic wheel, and I love it! That's too bad if NYC is really discontinuing that blush, especially since it's been recommended by a celebrity makeup artist.. I'll have to check and see if my Dollar Tree has it! Thanks for the post 🙂

  3. >@AngelicaYeah, the texture of the regular blushes suck. I restrained myself and only bought 1 backup but it was really hard to resist. I mean $1 is an awesome deal. But I have too many blushes already :pYou're welcome :D@SusaliePink Glow's a great blush too. Lovely color. I think Peach Glow's definitely worth getting, especially for $1. And you're welcome 🙂

    • hello! um i was wondering… what is a dollar tree store? like a 99 cents store?? where everything is “a dollar” sometimes a lil more. here in nyc we call it a 99 cents store if thats what it is.. i just want to know if its the same.. i bet they dont have it no matter which i go to.. the ones over here have sucky stuff..

      • Hi, Dollar Tree is a national chain of stores. It’s a little different than, for example, Jack’s 99 Cent or Jack’s World stores in NYC where everything is 99 cents or more. Everything they sell at the Dollar Tree is $1. Occasionally, Dollar Tree will run special sales in which items are less than $1 (2 for $1, or 3 for $1 on canned foods) but nothing is ever more than $1. You can check the store locator for a Dollar Tree near you: http://www.dollartree.com/custserv/locate_store.cmd

        Oh, and Dollar Tree sometimes has boring stuff but they’re constantly getting in new shipments of close-out (discounted name brand) items each week so you never know what you’ll find when you go there. It’s pretty much like a treasure hunt every time I go there. LOL.

  4. BOO.. NONE NEAR ME.. 😦 THANKS ANYWAYS.. IVE NEVER HEARD OF THEM IN NYC SO I KNEW WE DONT HAVE ANY.. I ALWAYS READ ABOUT IT IN RANDOM BLOGS.. OH WELLS.. I GUESS I WILL TRY PHYSICIANS FORMULA MOSIAC POWDER THAT LOOKS VERY SIMILAR. DONT KNOW THE COLOR NAME. BUT IT SAYS HINT OF PEACH OR PEACHY GLOW ON FRONT.? CANT REMEMBER. ABOUT $13 AT TARGET. THATS EXPENSIVE FOR DRUG STORE BRANDS.. IF YOU KNOW ANYWHERE ELSE I CAN FIND IT.. LET ME KNOW. THANKS!

Comments are closed.