Palladio Herbal Lip Gloss – Mocha Cream

This is my first lip gloss from Palladio and I’ve got to say I’m impressed. It’s really no surprise. I already love their tinted lip balms so much, why wouldn’t I love their lip glosses, too? Palladio makes some darn good lip products.

I’ve actually known about these lip glosses for awhile but I always walked past the Palladio display. Recently, though, for some odd reason I’ve been craving milky brown lip glosses. And I have to admit I wanted a brownish beige gloss even more when I learned the upcoming MAC Viva Glam Gaga 2 lipglass and lipstick are going to be nude brown colors. Now I bet you’re thinking, “oh, that’s so 1990s” but I think brown’s making a bit of a comeback, and I think I may have found the perfect one for me. Besides, I was just a tiny bit too young when the brown lip phase was “in”. 

Introducing the Palladio Herbal Lip Gloss in Mocha Cream, a beautiful, non-shimmery “milk tea” or “cream in your coffee” color with just enough peach to keep the brownish base from looking yucky. As you can see, Mocha Cream, despite being brown, doesn’t wash me out or give me dirty looking lips. It’s actually a very wearable peachy nude on me.

The gloss comes with your standard doe foot applicator.

The texture’s super creamy and non-sticky, and Mocha Cream has a light vanilla-ish candy scent that I don’t think would bother most people. Compared to vanilla scented MAC lipglasses, Mocha Cream is *a lot* more subtle.

Palladio Herbal Lip Glosses come with 0.24 fl oz / 7 ml of product, retail for $4-$5 at the drugstore, and are made in Canada.

I tried to find glosses in my stash that contain any touch of brown to compare with Mocha Cream. In the tubes they all have obvious hints of brown (rosy brown, pink brown, brownish peach, brownish mauve, etc.) but they all end up looking extremely pink or mauve swatched next to Mocha Cream. [And, no, that’s not a typo. It’s Revlon Nude Lustre swatched in the first pic and e.l.f. Malt Shake in the second.]

I want to try more Herbal Lip Glosses from Palladio but, unfortunately, if you’re a creme finish lover like me I don’t think there are very many (or any) other options. The Duane Reade drugstore I purchased Mocha Cream from had testers for the Palladio lip glosses and the rest all seemed to contain shimmer. Oh well. I still highly recommend Mocha Cream. It’s lovely and an excellent way to enter the world of brown lip products without investing a whole lot of money.

3 thoughts on “Palladio Herbal Lip Gloss – Mocha Cream

  1. >I've owned the plumping version of Palladio's lip gloss, along with the squeeze tube version. I wasn't impressed =( I've seen these too, of course, but keep passing them up because I'm not a big shimmer fan. I do, however, am head of heels over their lipsticks! They smell like MAC lipsticks, too. Atleast that's what I'm sensing. Like that cakey-vanilla smell. And they're also made in Canada! I swear they are probably made in the same plant as MAC lippies because they're so pigmented and moisturizing.

  2. >I think you need to do a winter skin care post. It's rarely this cold in Texas and I'm just going CRAZY with cracked, itchy skin. I don't know how you northern folk deal with it!

  3. >I'm wary of trying plumping products because I'm always afraid my lips will get really irritated but I'll definitely have to check out their lipsticks. They sound great!I'll try to get a winter skin care post up soon 🙂

Comments are closed.