January Monthly Favorites


I had a lot of love for these products during the month of January.

Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Blush in Blushing Glow
This should come as no surprise to you if you’ve been following my blog. I love the natural, peach tint this blush gives my cheeks and raved about Blushing Glow in a previous blog entry. If your CVS still has these on clearance I suggest that you snatch one up. They’re only $2.99 or even less if you use coupons. I managed to get mine for free!

Revlon Age Defying Moisturizing Concealer in Light Medium
This is another item I grabbed during the CVS 75% off sale and I’m so glad I did. I use the Revlon concealer primarily for my undereye circles but it’s also a great concealer for spots/blemishes. The coverage is great, about medium I would say. It definitely offers more coverage than the concealers I was using previously (Neutrogena 3-in-1 concealer for eyes, Maybelline Mineral Power, Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Double Face Perfector) while being non-cakey yet moisturizing enough for my undereye area.

Glycerin and DIY Fix+ Spray
This is probably the biggest and best discovery I’ve made this year, perhaps for all time.

As you know, I have dry/very dry skin and even using the heaviest, richest moisturizers I still have problems with my skin getting dry throughout the day. This causes my makeup to start looking dull and scaly as the day progresses because when my skin finishes sucking moisture from my facial cream it starts draining the moisture from my foundation, which is definitely not pretty.

I started researching possible solutions to my dryness issue and came across mentions of refreshing mists and setting sprays. One spray in particular that lots of people recommended was MAC Fix+. I watched Koren’s video discussing what MAC Fix+ really is (basically a mix of water, botanical extracts, glycerin, vitamin E oil, and preservatives), and researching that spray further I came across several people who suggested a less expensive but just as effective alternative: a DIY (do it yourself) MAC Fix+ spray.

There are lots of variations — some use less glycerin, some use more — but the DIY Fix+ spray recipe that I settled upon consists of:
1 tsp Glycerin + at least 3 tsp water (or rose water) + 5-7 drops of Vitamin E oil

The Vitamin E is completely optional and most people leave it out but I like putting it in there because my skin’s so dry. It’s kind of like extra insurance against dryness.

Since the DIY spray doesn’t have any chemical preservatives it’s better to make it in small batches to keep it from spoiling or developing lots of bacteria and other grossness. The recipe I use makes enough spray to last a couple of weeks.

Glycerin is a humectant which means it draws moisture from the air to keep your skin soft and moisturized. It’s a common ingredient found in many lotions, soaps and beauty products. I purchased my bottle of Glycerin from CVS. I found it on a bottom shelf in the skincare aisle for about $5-$6 and this little bottle will probably last for a long time since I only need to use a small amount for the DIY recipe each time. I mix the Glycerin with some Boscia tonic I had sitting around but plain water would do just as well. The Boscia spray just isn’t anything special and I wanted to use it up. And finally I added a few drops of Vit E oil. I put all the ingredients into a travel size spray bottle that I purchased in a set from the Dollar Tree, shake it up, and that’s all there is to it.

I simply spritz my face lightly with the DIY Fix+ spray after I finish my makeup routine and it provides my skin with a lovely, dewy finish. I don’t even need highlighter these days because the spray gives my skin such a natural, healthy glow that I don’t need to fake it with shimmery powders, liquids or creams. The glycerin does leave my face a little bit sticky but I can put up with it. The stickiness could be reduced by leaving out the Vitamin E oil or increasing the water content. The choice is up to you but I’ll take a little bit stickiness over dull, scaly skin anytime. I even use the spray on my makeup-free days because it makes my skin look so fresh.

Nicka K lipsticks
I’m not quite sure what the exact name of the product is since Nicka K does make more standard looking lipsticks, too. The ones I like, though, come in a slim silver tube and cost 99 cents each at my local beauty supply store. The two colors I own both have a creme (non-shimmer) finish. One is called Mauve (pinky nude) and the other is Cameo (peachy nude). I love MLBB (my lips but better) nude shades the most and if I had to compare the colors to anything in my stash I would say that the Maybelline Moisture Extreme lipstick in Nude Blush is like the glossier child of Nicka K Mauve and Cameo.

Mauve has a watermelon scent and Cameo smells minty but neither lipstick has a taste.

The only bad thing about the Nicka K lipsticks is their packaging which looks and feels really cheap in person but the colors are so beautiful I can live with it.

elf Studio Blush Brush

I’ve finally found my HG blush brush. Most brushes I’ve seen and used are just too big for my cheeks. I mean I love how soft my ecotools Blush Brush is but when I use it for blush I always end up with color down to my lips. The elf Studio Blush Brush is the perfect size for my cheeks; it places the color just where I want it and is just as incredibly soft as my ecotools brush. It’s also a fantastic brush for highlighter and contouring. As for my ecotools blush brush, I use it mainly for bronzer now.

My last favorite of the month was Downton Abbey, a British period/costume drama that originally aired on ITV and recently finished airing on PBS in America. If you missed it, you can still watch the series for a limited time on the PBS website. As for me, I can’t wait for Season 2!

5 thoughts on “January Monthly Favorites

  1. >Thanks for the tip about the DIY spray. Not only is this eye opening for me, but it's so genuis as well! What better way to keep your skin hydrated than a spray that you know will be good for your skin 🙂 Where do you buy glycerin? I'm just curious if you went online or if you bought it at a beauty store.

  2. >You're welcome 🙂 I couldn't believe that the solution to my problem was so inexpensive. I found the glycerin at CVS. It was on the bottom shelf in the skincare aisle with all the lotions and moisturizers. I've also seen it at Rite Aid so I'm pretty sure most drugstores carry it.

  3. >@DynaIt's such a great brush. Haha I know exactly how you feel. Sometimes there are so many things I want to blog about but lack the motivation. I'm trying to be better about it this year though :D@JustineI agree. I've been wowed by most, if not all, of the Physicians Formula products I've tried. They're fantastic!

Comments are closed.