Holiday haul

I’ve seen many bloggers post about their Christmas presents and figured, why not, I’d share, too, but the truth is my household is pretty secular. For us, Christmas was always a holiday for the kids to receive presents. Once my sister and I started middle school my parents kind of stopped giving us presents although we’d put up the Christmas tree (artificial, of course) occasionally. Sometimes my parents would just give us $50 apiece to spend but the whole presents under the tree thing kind of stopped after elementary school. Honestly, I preferred getting cash. I still do 😛 

However, we still take advantage of all the holiday sales and deals that take place during the post-Thanksgiving time of the year and just randomly give and receive whenever the urge comes upon us.

It’s not much but this is the loot I received…

In December I used my annual Sephora Beauty Insider gift card to select a few items I’d been curious about: the Stila Make an Impression in Moscow and Stila Adventurous in Aspen travel palettes ($10 each), and the Sephora brand Waterproof Smoky Cream Liners in Cafe and Must Have ($10 each).

My sister loves her red Hunter boots (or wellies, if that’s what you want to call them) so she got me a pair from Nordstrom but I told her to send them back because I knew that I’d never wear them. They just feel so heavy and awkward on my feet. I prefer boots that go no higher than mid-calf so the Hunters are too high for me, and I’m not a fan of tucking my pants inside my boots or wearing skinny jeans which is probably what I’d have to do with the Hunters.

I’m sure that Hunter boots are perfect for walking along the English moors with your faithful steed by your side but in my opinion they seem a bit excessive for navigating the city streets.


Instead of the boots (which by they way she’s decided to keep for herself) she got me an Old Navy sweater that I’d had my eye on. (Old Navy still has the sweater up on their site in white or gray but in limited sizes.) I was mainly drawn to the fair isle pattern so when I got it I was pleasantly surprised by how soft the material it is. I had expected it to be really scratchy for some reason.

As a side note, the sweater looks much better on than it does draped on a hanger.

Her boyfriend knows that I’m a bit of gamer so he decided to give me his xbox system. It’s still in perfect condition but apparently the fan on it was too loud for him and the new generation of xbox is quieter. I don’t know what he’s talking about; I don’t think it’s any louder than the fan on my laptop which isn’t very loud at all. He included a few games and a brand new wireless controller. I’m not sure if the games are necessarily ones that I’d pick out for myself but overall not a bad present at all ^.^

One thought on “Holiday haul

Comments are closed.