Forgotten things

Here are a bunch of items that I’ve purchased in the past 3-4 months but, for one reason or another, forgot to mention in previous haul posts. 

Back in December I finally managed to find a fully stocked display of the wet n wild holiday palettes and snagged the only palette I was interested in: Snow Sprite. I had originally wanted to get the purple holiday palette, too, but I heard from several people that the quality of that one wasn’t on par with the others so I skipped it. $4.99.

I bought the Bonne Bell Glimmer Bronze in Gold n Glitz when I spotted it at the supermarket because I remembered Hollyannaeree on You Tube always raves about it. It was only two or three dollars.

I picked up the wet n wild Mega Glo powder in Catwalk Pink because several people on the MUA board were raving about how fantastic a highlighter it is. I had to check it out for myself. I think I got it on sale for a dollar and change.

Ginabinawina99 on You Tube raved about wet n wild’s Ultimate Minerals bronzer in Amber Glow. According to her, it’s a dupe for MAC Stereo Rose. Of course, an instant lemming was born and I had to find it. I believe it was around $3. If you can’t tell by now I’m very easily influenced. Marketers/Advertisers would love me.

I purchased the Bonne Bell gel blush in Red from a UK Ebay seller for around $2. I love cream blushes but I want to give gel blushes another try. All gel blushes can’t be as sticky as Tarte’s, right?

Several weeks ago I managed to locate a nearly depleted limited edition NYC summer display and grabbed the last waterproof eyeliner pencil they had in Turquoise. I also bought one of their regular pencils in In The Navy from their permanent line. The waterproof pencil was $3.99 and the navy pencil was 99 cents but I had a $5 NYC coupon and got both for free.

Then in an effort to break away from my usual brown eye liner I decided to get some wet n wild coloricon pencils in Charcoal and Deep Blue. 99 cents each.

Since I’m a big fan of the Jordana Easyshine Glossy Lip Colors I decided to test out some of their lip glosses. I picked up one of their Lip Shine Glazes in Watermelon Punch and one of their InColor Pretty Shine glosses in Dazzling. Both were only $1.99 each.

The nail polish in Heartthrob was purchased way back during CVS’s $1 sale on all Confetti brand nail polishes.

When I saw someone on MUA say that their HG lip balm is Alba’s Coconut Cream I ran out and got it at CVS. I love lip balms and I love coconut so it sounded like a match made in heaven to me. I believe it was $2-$3.

Finally, I’ve been really into skincare lately and really wanted to try out some Freeman products. I was mainly interested in their face masks (the non-peel off kind) and since I know they make a wide variety of them I visited their website to see which ones would be most suitable for my skin type.

Since my skin type is dry to very dry I excluded any masks on the site that mention oil control/oil production/reducing excess oils such as the Mint & Lemon clay mask. I wasn’t too sure about the Avocado & Oatmeal Clay Masque because they say it draws out excess oil yet contains moisturizing Vitamin E. However, since lots of oily and acne prone people on MUA seem to love it I figured this mask and the Mint & Lemon mask would be too drying for me.

Instead, I selected the masks that are described as moisturizing, aid in sloughing off dead skin cells, and contain cocoa butter, shea butter and/or Vitamin E. In the end I narrowed it down to the Chocolate & Strawberry Detoxifying Mask and the Good Stuff Revitalizing Face Mask. These masks would probably not be deep cleaning enough for oily skin types but perfect for normal to dry people.

The Good Stuff Revitalizing Face Mask is usually $7 but my supermarket was getting rid of the whole Good Stuff line and had reduced them to $3.49 each. I grabbed a few tubes of those as well as some of the Good Stuff Smoothing Facial Scrub. The Chocolate & Strawberry wasn’t on sale so I only bought one tube for $3.99.

Lately, I’ve seen many people raving about the Pineapple Enzyme Mask so when I saw it at the beauty supply store for $3.99 I decided to give it a try.

I’ll do a separate blog post about the Freeman products after I’ve had a chance to use them more. Skincare product reviews usually take a bit longer because results for the most part aren’t instantaneous.

My initial thoughts so far are that the Chocolate & Strawberry mask smells divine. The Pineapple mask smells yummy, too, but I’m kind of on the fence about it; it’s okay but I’m not sure what the fuss is about. Nevertheless, I’m going to give everything a fair shot and use them for a lot longer before I give a full review.

Last, but not least, I want to mention a great drugstore/discount store find. If you couldn’t find the limited edition wet n wild Wild Shine polishes or if you’re simply on the hunt for a great silver nail polish give the L.A. Colors Color Craze nail polish in Live a try. The Live nail polish is the best silver I’ve come across at the drugstore. Actually, I found it at the Dollar Tree.

Compared to the limited edition wet n wild Wild Shine nail polish in Toast the L.A. Colors polish in Live is more of a true silver foil. In person and side by side, Toast is a bit warmer with a very slight yellow/gold tinge. It’s also more of a shimmer polish whereas Live looks more like liquid metal. In addition, Live is somewhat more pigmented.

2 thoughts on “Forgotten things

  1. >Haha, the lemming bug spreads quickly! Now I want the wet N wild bronzer and lip balm!I also picked up the Bonne Bell bronzer because of Holly. 🙂 I'm a huge fan of Freeman masks. Please do let us know what you think of the Good Stuff mask. It's the only one I haven't tried. :DGreat haul!

  2. >LOL it's like a virus infecting everyone. No one is immune!Oh, sure, no problem. I'll definitely blog about the Freeman mask in the future.

Comments are closed.