CVS semi-annual clearance haul

I was good and didn’t go too crazy. I only got a few things that I’ve been meaning to try for a long time.

I was mainly interested in getting Physicians Formula products because, in terms of drugstore prices, this brand tends to be one of the more expensive so whenever it’s on sale I have to jump on it. Their Mineral Wear blushes, in particular, had been on my Lemmings List for the longest time so when I saw that two of the shades were marked down 75% I had to scoop them up. I bought four in the shade Blushing Glow and one in the shade Pink Glow. Pink Glow’s more of a peachy pink but the pink in it can make me look a little sunburned if I apply too much. Blushing Glow is very similar but more apricot/peachy and it has become my HG blush. Love it, love it, love it. I have a ton of blushes but I’ve never had one that looks so natural on me. The color payoff is excellent and I’m so glad I stocked up.

I also picked up one of the Physicians Formula baked eye shadow trios in Baked Sugar. The colors are all rather shimmery/frosty but it’s okay. I probably wouldn’t buy it at full price though.

I did see some of the Shimmer Strips eye shadow palettes on sale too but I decided against getting any. Many people seem to love them but I have one (the palette for brown eyes from their Pop! collection) and it’s meh. Maybe I got a dud but the shadows in mine aren’t very pigmented and the texture’s a little too firm/hard for me.

I’d also heard rave reviews about Revlon Age Defying and Maybelline Dream Mousse concealers so I had to grab those when I saw they were on clearance.

The last item I got was the Rimmel Moisture Renew lipstick in Spotlight Beige. I’m normally not a fan of nude/concealer lips but I figured that even if I hated the color this would be a good way to test out the texture of this lipstick formula for cheap. I’m not a fan of the Rimmel Vinyl lipgloss and Lasting Finish lipstick formulas and that fact was preventing me from trying out other Rimmel lip products.

Total amount I paid: $0

Knowing that CVS runs these clearance sales a couple of times a year, I’ve been collecting and saving my coupons for awhile. Some of the coupons I used I had been saving for 6+ months. I had a $1 off Maybelline coupon, a $1 off Revlon coupon, a $2 off Rimmel coupon, and six $3 off Physicians Formula coupons in my wallet. The rest, including tax, was covered by ECB. I fully expected to have to pay tax and was kind of surprised when I didn’t have to. Yay for savings!

I’m debating whether I should go back and get one of the Neutrogena lip products (lipsticks and lip sheers) that were marked down 50%.

7 thoughts on “CVS semi-annual clearance haul

  1. >Great haul! I really want to pick up the peachy blush now.You should try Physicians Formula Pop shimmer strips in Hazel and Blue, since they're both on sale. I have them all and I agree that the brown one is really weak in pigmentation, but Hazel and green are pretty darn great. Blue is good but not as good as those two.Hope this helps!

  2. >The blush is great. I was actually turned onto it by an Asian You Tuber called echoli. She swears by Blushing Glow and it looks so great on her I had to try it. It makes me look really healthy and sun kissed but not in a tanned way, if that makes any sense. I'm not quite sure why any of the blushes have Glow in their name though. They all look pretty matte on me. Thanks for the rec. I'm willing to give the Shimmer Strips another chance since they get so much love and they're so cheap right now. Also thanks for letting me know that I'm not crazy and the pigmentation on the brown eyes palette isn't that great. Good to know 😀 I'll definitely check out the Hazel and Blue.

  3. >Ooh – Will you do swatches of the blushes!? You're really tempting me to go back and get one or two, I've already got a ton at the sale though! The neutrogena lipsticks are GORGEOUS, I really think you should check them out – Rum Raison, and a shade called Plum Paradise or something similar, are very gorgeous.

  4. >Sure, I'll try to do swatches tomorrow :)You've convinced me about the Neutrogena lipsticks. The shade names alone sound great and I've really been into plum and deeper shades lately. I just hope they still have some left because I don't think I'll have time to go to CVS until later this week 😦

  5. >woah that's a lot of the same blush. Have you tried PF talc-free mineral concealer in green. I think it's a great powder. I did try the blush but I find it too sheer and light for me.

  6. >^haha, yeah. I gave two away to family member and kept three for myself. Not bad for $0 ;)No, I haven't tried the green concealer. I don't really have a lot of redness to correct/conceal. Regular concealer is usually enough for me.aw, that's too bad. I find that, in general, Physicians Formula blushes have very good color payoff.

  7. Pingback: Rant: Maybelline Dream Mousse Concealer « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.