e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation swatches (Pic Heavy)

I received my second package of e.l.f. items in the mail today. I also ordered some brushes and an cream eyeliner from their Studio line but I’ll just be focusing on the new foundation today.

I usually bounce back and forth between an NC15 and 20, and right now I’m probably at my darkest. I don’t tan easily but when I do I take forever to lose my tan; that’s why I try to stay out of the sun as much as possible. Since I’m sort of in a shade limbo at the moment I wasn’t sure which foundation shade to get but knowing that e.l.f.’s shades tend to run a little dark I decided to order the two lightest shades and hope for the best.

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

The Studio foundation contains an SPF of 15 and comes in a frosted glass bottle with a pump dispenser. For $6 you’ll get 0.8oz/23g of product. I used a 50% off code so I managed to get both bottles for $6 total.

In the pic to the left, I’ve placed a tube of Maybelline’s Color Sensational lipstick next to the e.l.f. foundation for size comparison purposes.

As for the shades I purchased, I’m happy to report that the lightest shade Porcelain is a decent match. It’s just the tiniest bit too light for me right now but I think it’ll match me perfectly once we’re fully into winter. Sand, however, is too dark for my face.

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

The consistency of the foundation is that of a liquid rather than a cream and is neither too runny nor too thick. It feels relatively lightweight on the skin and dries to a semi-matte, slightly dewy, non-sticky finish. There are no shimmers in the foundation.

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

I would say that the Studio foundation provides up to medium coverage. I wouldn’t recommend building up the coverage beyond that because it can start to look cakey. It brightens up my dark circles a little bit but I still have to rely on a concealer to hide them. And it does an okay job of covering up redness and old acne scars on my skin if dab on a little extra. I simply use a small concealer brush and go over problem areas (spots, freckles, etc) with the tiniest amount of foundation and blend.

I’ve tried to take several photos of the foundation blended onto the back of my hand to demonstrate the coverage.

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

In the Before photo you can clearly see the blue/green veins on the back of my hand. In the After photo the foundation manages to cover up most of the discoloration but still allows some of my veining to show through.

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

Here’s another photo with my two hands side by side. I have the Studio Flawless Finish Foundation in the color Porcelain on the back of my left hand and no foundation on my right hand. Hopefully, you can see the difference.

If I had to describe the scent I’d say it smells like a manly baby-wipe, as if someone mixed a tiny bit of men’s cologne/aftershave with the fragrance of baby-wipes. But maybe I’m crazy 😛

The directions included with the foundation instruct you to:

Apply with a foundation brush or sponge. Blend in completely for a silky and sheer effect, or blend in less for a fuller coverage that evens out the skin tone.

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

I didn’t experience any difficulty using just my fingers to apply but I’m going to try applying it with my new Studio Stipple Brush and a damp wedge sponge as well. We’ll see how that goes.

One thing that kind of confuses me though is that e.l.f. claims that this foundation is oil free yet the fourth ingredient listed is mineral oil. Weird. I don’t have any problems with mineral oil so it’s fine with me but for those of you who are sensitive to it that’s something you should know.

ETA: Playing around with some of my other e.l.f. products, I think the Studio foundation in Porcelain most closely resembles the All Over Cover Sticks in Light Beige and Apricot Beige (Fair) in terms of shade/color. It doesn’t have quite as much pink tones as Light Beige but it’s not as yellow as Apricot Beige (Fair) either; it falls somewhere in between.

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation

Even though the new Studio Tinted Moisturizer also comes in a shade called Porcelain it’s not a match for the Studio Flawless Finish Foundation in Porcelain. As you can tell from the photo, the Studio Tinted Moisturizer is darker and more yellow. However, the TM is also a lot more sheer so I think it’ll be more forgiving on different skin tones.

7 thoughts on “e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation swatches (Pic Heavy)

  1. >@Ashley,I can't really say because I don't really have experience with products suitable for oily skin types. My skin is dry to very dry.I would avoid this product if you're sensitive to mineral oil though. Even though the packaging of the foundation says its oil-free, one of the first ingredients listed is mineral oil.

  2. Pingback: Picks and Skips: e.l.f. – Studio and Mineral lines « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.