Mini e.l.f. Studio Haul – Stipple Brush, Conditioning Lip Balms SPF 15, Cream Eyeshadow, Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20


I decided to get a few of the new Studio items that were recently added to e.l.f.’s website.

I have to say I really love how fast e.l.f.’s shipping is. I placed my order on Wednesday morning and I received my order in the mail this morning (Saturday). Three days is pretty fast, wouldn’t you say? I’ve placed at least 6 orders with them over the course of a year and I always get my order in 3-4 days.

Since I just received these items in the mail today I haven’t really gotten a chance to test drive most of them out. I did a quick swatch of the tinted moisturizer and that’s about it.

e.l.f. Studio Stipple Brush


This is my first stippling brush so I really have nothing with which to compare it.

I mainly bought it to use with my cream blushes but I want to try it out with some of my foundations too. I have to admit that after hearing so many raves about stippling brushes in general my expectations are rather high. Here’s hoping the e.l.f. Studio brush doesn’t disappoint…although it already shed a couple of bristles as I removed it from its plastic packaging 😦

e.l.f. Studio Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 – Porcelain

I don’t know why but I expected to get a lot more product. Perhaps it’s because their $1 Tinted Moisturizer SPF 15 contains 0.42 oz.. I guess I thought that the $3 Studio Tinted Moisturizer would contain three times more product but, no, it only contains 0.7 oz./20 ml. I also threw in the Maybelline Pure makeup (1 oz.) for size comparison purposes only.

I wasn’t sure which color to choose but I decided to err on the side of being too light rather than too dark and I picked the lightest shade in Porcelain. Most of e.l.f.’s base products tend to run a little dark; their lightest shades usually suit my NC 15-20 skin. Luckily, I chose right. Porcelain is a fantastic match.

As you can see, Porcelain is yellow-toned and suits my light Asian skin perfectly once I begin blending it.

I’ve already tried it on my face and my initial impression is very favorable. I’m not sure how I’ll feel about it after a full day of wearing it but I like the feel and look of it on my skin so far and think it’s better than their $1 tinted moisturizer (which I do like).

On my dry/very dry skin the Studio TM doesn’t accentuate or cling to the dry patches as much as the $1 TM; it looks a lot more even. The finish is very natural, neither dewy nor matte, and it contains no shimmers. The TM is very easy to spread — it’s slightly less thick than the $1 TM — and blending with my fingers is a breeze. I’ve been wearing it on my face for a few hours now and haven’t experienced any weird color changes/oxidation and it doesn’t feel heavy or sticky on my skin.

If you’re familiar with the $1 TM you know it smells like artificial oranges (like orange Tic Tacs, in my opinion). If you hate that scent, then no fear, the scent of the Studio TM reminds me of Neutrogena’s Ultra Sheer Dry Touch Sunblock, except a little more subtle and less soapy in fragrance. Once it’s on my face I don’t really notice a smell at all.

The coverage of the Studio TM is sheer to light, much like e.l.f.’s $1 TM. It won’t cover redness, dark circles, zits, hyperpigmentation or any other major issues. This would be perfect for someone with pretty good skin already who needs a little help evening out their skin tone.

e.l.f. Studio Cream Eyeshadow – Dawn

I haven’t gotten a chance to play with this puppy yet but is it just me or does it look a little dry, like it’s pulling away from the edges of the jar? Hmm. The color’s pretty though. Can’t wait to try it out.

One thing I have to say: the packaging is humongous! Look how big it is in my palm. I like the clear plastic cube and black cap but couldn’t they have made it a little less bulky? This is going to take up a lot of room in my makeup bag.

e.l.f. Conditioning Lip Balm SPF 15

After removing the black plastic cap there’s a little white plastic protective covering over the lip balm.

Here’s one of the Studio Conditioning Lip Balms next to a L’Oreal HIP Jelly Balm for size comparison purposes. Bulky, bulky, bulky!

The packaging of the Studio Cream Eyeshadow and Studio Conditioning Lip Balm is very similar in size and shape. The packaging of the Lip Balm is slightly more rounded, the Cream Eyeshadow slightly more square.

10 thoughts on “Mini e.l.f. Studio Haul – Stipple Brush, Conditioning Lip Balms SPF 15, Cream Eyeshadow, Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20

  1. Pingback: Picks and Skips: e.l.f. – Studio and Mineral lines « Mimsy's Blog

  2. Pingback: e.l.f. Studio Conditioning Lip Balm SPF 15 – Mellow Melon & Blissful Berry – swatches « Mimsy's Blog

  3. Pingback: e.l.f. Studio Cream Eyeshadow – Dawn – Review and Swatches « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.