NOTD: Halloween / Candy Corn nails

This is definitely not an original idea. I was in the mood for something festive so I did a Google image search for Halloween nails and came across several photos of people sporting candy corn-inspired nails and I just had to do it. It was too cute to resist.

I started off with one coat of Sally Hansen Nail Nutrition Green Tea+Olive as my base coat.

For the yellow stripe I used Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Mellow Yellow. This color goes on a bit thin and streaky so I needed at least 4 coats.

For the orange stripe I used NYC’s In A New York Minute Quick Dry nail polish in Orange Creamsicle which was a limited edition shade from their Shock Value collection earlier this Spring/Summer. It took about 3 coats to achieve a really opaque line.

For the white stripe I used Wet N’ Wild’s Wild Shine nail polish in French White Creme. It took 2-3 coats for me to get a very solid white line.

Finally, I topped everything off with one layer of my Chi Ceramic Base & Top Coat. I’m really liking this top coat; it gives my nails a very glossy finish.

I still need to go back and do a bit of cleanup with nail polish remover so please excuse the mess, but this was my first time doing stripes and I’m pretty satisfied with the results. Before I started I was most concerned about wiggly, wonky stripes. My stripes are pretty straight and even for the most part so I’m happy.

