Weekend Shopping

In one of my previous blog entries I said that if I ended up liking the Physicians Formula Mineral Glow Pearls in Translucent Pearl that I’d go back and get the Mineral Glow Pearls in Light Bronze Pearl. Well, I’m still on the fence about the Translucent Pearls — I simply haven’t used it long enough to know for sure if it’s love or hype — but the CVS sale ($5.99 on all PF powders and bronzers) was simply too good to resist, especially since I had a spare $4 PF coupon. It actually ended up being an even more awesome deal because I found one of the special PF powder packages that includes a bonus product! So two products that would normally retail for $12.95-$13.95 each were reduced to $5.99 total. With my $4 off coupon, I only ended up paying $1.99 plus tax for two PF powders! w00t!

The bonus product included with the Mineral Glow Pearls in Light Bronze Pearl was a Multi-Colored Face Powder in Translucent. I decided to give the latter to my sister who’s been looking for a new face powder. She’s oily; I’m dry and I don’t think I would put it to much use myself.

I plan on doing a blog entry (with swatches) about the Mineral Glow Pearls soon. So stay tuned for that. 

I bought two more colors from the Confetti nail polish line at CVS. I chose Belle of the Ball (a lilac creme) and Happy Birthday (a dark purple with lots of micro shimmer). The first Confetti nail polish I purchased a week ago, Purple Reign, impressed me enough to get more. The Confetti formula’s a little more runny than I typically go for but with Purple Reign I was able to achieve total opacity in two coats. And no streaking. Yay!

At a Duane Reade that I don’t normally frequent I came across two 99 cent wet n wild Silk Finish lipsticks that I’ve never seen before: Deep Wine (creme finish) and Cherry Frost (frost finish). I’m sure these shades aren’t new but at most drugstores I’ve been to the wet n wild displays are smaller and only include a limited selection of shades. I’ve wanted to try a dark, vampy lip shade for awhile now and Dark Wine is the perfect way to try one out without having to pay a whole lot.

My most exciting discovery and purchase this week was made at Dollar Tree. You never know what you’ll find there! This week they a bunch of The Simpsons-themed latch hook kits. How old school is that?! I haven’t seen a latch hook kit since I was in elementary school and it was so nostalgic seeing so many sitting on the shelves. And all for $1 each! I got two and then went back the next day to get a third. Ha ha. I’m such a dork.

These are the only three types they had at the store. I was hoping to see a Marge, Lisa, and Moe…or any other characters…but this is all they had.

I thought that since they popped up at the Dollar Tree that the kits would be defective in some way but they’re all in perfect condition. They didn’t even shortchange me in colored yarn which was way unexpected. I remember way back buying latch hook kits from reputable craft stores and sometimes not being able to finish a kit because they didn’t come with the right amount of yarn. I’d try to find a color match at the yarn/craft store but to no avail.

The only downside to the Dollar Tree kits is they don’t come with latch hooks but, as I remember it, latch hooks are usually sold separately anyway. I still had the latch hook my mother gave me years ago and pulled it out of storage to use.

I also didn’t expect the actual project to be so LARGE. The latch hook kits I’ve completed in the past have all been portrait sized. The Dollar Tree kits are humongous in comparison!

I’m not even half-way through the first kit and in this photo I have it spread out on my coffee table. I’m 5’7″ and if I hold it up against my body, it goes from my feet all the way to the tops of my thighs. It’s huge. The instructions that come with the kit suggest turning the finished product into a wall hanging or rug. Hmm, I don’t know how I feel about having a massive Homer hanging on my wall. A Homer rug sounds just as strange 😛

Next time I hit the Dollar Store I’ll have to see if they sell jigsaw puzzles. Not easy ones either but the kind with 1000+ pieces. That would just make my month!

