NOTD: Confetti Purple Reign

More like Nail of the Week rather than Nail of the Day which is why there’s some nail growth and minor chipping. I meant to snap some photos the morning after I painted my nails but life happens and it totally slipped my mind. Apologies.

Purple Reign ($1.99) was the first Confetti nail polish that I purchased at CVS. In the bottle it’s a deep reddish violet with a creme (non-shimmer) finish; however, on the nails it looks considerably darker.

When I bought it I thought I was adding a unique color to my nail polish stash, but once on the nails it looks an awful lot like NYC’s Quick Dry nail polish in Manhattan. Purple Reign’s a teensy bit lighter and more eggplant than Manhattan but close enough to be mistaken for it. I admit I was a little disappointed. With Purple Reign, what I saw was definitely not what I got.

I used two coats of polish. The formula’s on the thinner, more liquid-y side and one coat went on streaky. But two coats and everything was fine and dandy: totally opaque and non-streaky.

Although I was disappointed with how Purple Reign looked on my nails, the opaque formula impressed me enough to go out and get more colors.

