New York Color Ultra Last Lipstick 420B Mousse: Then and Now

This is sort of a follow-up to my last blog entry about my Rite Aid/N.Y.C. haul. If you recall, I mentioned buying the Ultra Last lipstick in the color Mousse and that I used to own that particular shade years ago. My mom liked the color so much she stole it from my stash.

I’m not sure why I waited so long to replace it because the NYC Mousse lipstick that I had was such a wearable shade. I purchased it around, or a little before, 2008 and the color was a gorgeous, understated brownish-rosy nude shade in a creme (non shimmer) finish. And by “nude” I don’t mean a blank-out-my-lips flesh toned nude. Mousse looked like my actual lip color but with just a touch more pink; it was incredibly natural looking in a MLBB (my lips but better) way. The texture was smooth and creamy, and definitely not as dry as the Revlon Super Lustrous lipsticks.

So I went to Rite Aid and picked up a new tube of Mousse and upon opening up the tube I realized that the lipstick shade had been reformulated! I repossessed my old Mousse lipstick from my mom just to compare and confirm my suspicions. 

The new Mousse is more peachy brown and definitely not as pink as my pre-2008 Mousse. Moreover, the new Mousse does not have a creme finish; instead, it has a subtle pearly frost finish (if you click on and enlarge the photos you’ll be able to see the frosty finish more clearly). The texture of the new Mousse is also drier compared to the old Mousse lipstick, though still not as dry as Revlon Super Lustrous lipsticks. Lastly, the amount of lipstick contained in the tube has changed. The packaging still looks the same but the old Mousse only contained 0.11 oz/3.1 g of product whereas the new Mousse contains 0.12 oz/3.4 g of product. The price has remained unchanged ($1.99) and Mousse, as with all NYC Ultra Last lipsticks, is still completely unscented (which I love!).

I personally prefer the old version of Mousse; nudes with more pink or rose are more flattering on me and I liked the creamier, non-frost formula. If you loved the old formula and are still able to find it in stores, I would suggest stocking up. However, for those of you who prefer a bit more peachy brown in your nude lipsticks and don’t mind a bit of frost, you’ll probably like the new Mousse more. Old or new, Mousse is still a lovely shade and I’ll continue to use it.

ETA: I thought that the frosty Mousse I bought at Rite Aid might have been a fluke so I went to Duane Reade, and the Mousse lipsticks at Duane Reade were frosty as well.

