Weekend Haul: Sally Hansen, Maybelline, N.Y.C.


I picked up a few things at the drugstore and beauty supply store over the weekend. 

I had a $5 N.Y.C. coupon so I picked up some nail polishes at Duane Reade. I got Love Letter, Wing It Wine Creme, Plaza Plumberry, and Spring Street. I ended up having only to pay for tax basically. Yay!

At the Dollar Tree, I scored some of the Sally Hansen Moist & Matte liquid lipsticks in Linen, Brocade and Shantung. I’ve been looking for it ever since I saw nenabuggy rave about them in a YT video. And so far so good. They go on easily and smoothly. It’s matte so it’s a bit drying (I think that’s how all how matte lippies are) but not nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I’ve only tried Brocade and Shantung so far but Brocade is LOVE. It’s a great mauve-y MLBB color. I thought I would like Shantung more but I’m not feeling the shimmer; I wish it was truly matte (non-shimmer).

I also got the Sally Hansen Collagen Lipstick (I think that’s what’s it’s called but I already tossed the packaging) in Hint of Honesty. It’s not so much a lipstick as a sheer tinted balm. I really love the texture. In terms of consistency and moisturization it’s probably one of the best drugstore balms I’ve tried. Unfortunately, I think it’s on the verge of going rancid -_- I guess that’s the chance you take when you shop at the Dollar Tree. I have to say though that I’ve bought plenty of lippies from the Dollar Tree before and this is the first time I’ve gotten a spoiled lipstick.

And, finally, when I was in Manhattan I spotted some NYX products in a beauty supply store. They didn’t have any of the round lipsticks or creme blushes, which I was most interested in. They did have some of the eyeshadow palettes and singles as well as a small selection of the NYX Jumbo Eye and Lip Pencils. I opted to get two Jumbo Eye Pencils in Yogurt and French Fries for $2.99 each. Usually, I like to wear sheer, shimmery champagnes, nudes or pale pinks on my lids so I got Yogurt for to suit my personal taste. French Fries isn’t really the type of color I normally go for but it looked so good on my favorite You Tuber, ChefCaffy, that I had to go out and get it. The texture of the NYX Jumbo Eye Pencils is nice (smooth, easy to blend) but they crease like a mofo.

One thought on “Weekend Haul: Sally Hansen, Maybelline, N.Y.C.

  1. >I love most everything NYX. Definitely get 'em if you find them. The cream blushes are really pigmented and I think you'll like them. The round lipsticks are alright, very hit or miss, especially if you buy it online. I managed to score some of their Black Label lippies for cheap at a fragrance store. Nice haul! I haven't been to my dollar tree in a while. I might just have to stop by 😉

Comments are closed.