Weekend Haul – eBay, Dollar Tree and drugstore

I used to be an avid eBayer (both a seller and buyer) but have sort of neglected it for years. Recently, after watching some You Tube videos about cheap eyelashes for sale I’ve fallen back in love with eBay.

I’ve never used false lashes before but I’ve been curious about them for some time. I thought eBay would be the best place to get some cheap lashes with which to experiment. Synthetic lashes seem to be the least expensive so that’s where my search began.

I wanted to start off with something natural looking, so I didn’t want anything that looked too voluminous, fake, or long. I picked these two sets of lashes from two separate sellers. From the photos and item descriptions, these seemed to be some of the most natural.

I paid $2.59 for the set on the left, and $2.98 for the set on the right. Both prices include shipping.

I haven’t had a chance to try the lashes out yet because neither came with eyelash glue but I remembered seeing lash glue at the Dollar Tree so I stopped there next. I wanted a dark lash glue but they only had white.

I also spotted some Sally Hansen Collagen Lipsticks there so I bought one in the color Hint of Honesty. I haven’t opened the packaging yet but from what I can see it’s a medium pink lipstick that doesn’t appear to contain any shimmer.

My sister and I got together to get some skincare items off of drugstore.com. I’ve been interested in the Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment (phew! what a long name!) for some time and it happened to be on sale. It contains 2% salicylic acid.

I also chose a Eucerin Q10 anti wrinkle cream for my mom (not pictured). She really liked the Garnier Ultra Lift Pro Gravity Defying Cream I got for her awhile ago but wanted to try something new…something with less fragrance. The Eucerin Q10 is unscented and it was also on sale.

At Duane Reade I purchased another one of the Jordana Easyshines in the color Cotton Candy. It’s a sheer light pink that contains no shimmer.

I saved the best for last! This was another purchase I made on eBay. I’ve been tempted by all the positive reviews on blogs and You Tube about the Goody Spin Pins but I wasn’t going to spend $6 on two hair pins! For those unfamiliar with the product, the Spin Pins are corkscrew shaped pins. What you’re supposed to do is tie your hair into a ponytail first, then twist your hair into a bun, and secure the bun with two Spin Pins. One Spin Pin supposedly does the work of 20 bobby pins!

Surfing around on eBay I found a few people selling very similar looking corkscrew pins. I bought this set of 5 pins for a mere $1.50 from a seller in Hong Kong. Shipping was FREE.

The only difference I can see between these pins and the Goody Spin Pins is that the eBay pins don’t have glue at the tips.

You know how with bobby pins, the ends have plasticized glue so they don’t scratch your head when you stick them into your hair? Well, the eBay pins don’t have that.

I’ve used the eBay pins a few times already and haven’t had any problems with them nicking my scalp. I think as long as you don’t try to stab the pins into your head, you’re fine. With these pins, you’re supposed to twist not stab them into your hair anyway, so no worries. But if you’re still worried, I’m sure you could cover up the ends with a hot glue gun or wrap the ends in tape.

What’s my verdict on these pins? They are MAGIC!

My hair has always been problematic. It’s too soft, smooth and straight. How is that a problem, you ask? Well, I like my hair. It’s not a problem when I choose to wear it down or up in ponytail. However, the texture of my hair makes it difficult, if not impossible, for it to hold a curl or stay in any updo or complicated hair style. My hair won’t even stay in a french braid even with lots of hairspray. It has a will of its own.

So imagine my surprise when these inexpensive little doodads did the trick like nothing ever has!

I won’t say that my bun was perfect. There were little pieces here and there that didn’t want to stay in the bun, and popped up like little cowlicks. But if you knew my hair you’d know that even getting my hair to stay in a bun is a feat in itself. And it wasn’t anything that couldn’t be smoothed down with some water or hairspray. My bun managed to stay in place in one piece for the whole day! I am thoroughly impressed.

For my difficult hair, I had to rely on 3 of the corkscrew pins. Two pins were sufficient but I felt better knowing that there were three pins in my hair.

Putting the pins in and taking them out of my hair is a super easy process. I simply twist the pins into my bun in a clockwise direction. I place one pin at the 2 o’clock position, one pin at the 6 o’clock position, and a third pin at the 10 o’clock position. When I want to remove them, I twist them out counterclockwise. I was surprised that none of the pins snagged or got caught in my long hair. These pins are really too cool for words!

I like these pins so much and never want to be without them, or heaven forbid lose one, that I immediately bought another set of pins from the same seller. Love love love! I think these are my favorite item for the month of July, perhaps for the year. I’ve always been a ponytail kind of gal but now I think I’ll be a bun girl. These pins couldn’t have come at a better time. It’s been so hot and muggy in NY, it’s nice to be able to put my hair up and off of my neck.

Goody has some Style Tips for their Spin Pins on their website. I can’t wait to try those hair styles out using my eBay pins!

One thought on “Weekend Haul – eBay, Dollar Tree and drugstore

  1. I think the cheap Chinese spin pins without the glue at the tips are absolutely a PITA to use – because they don’t have the glue you can hear your hairs ripping all. The Time while putting them in – haaaate it! Will try your tip about hot glue.

Comments are closed.