NIA24 Rapid Exfoliating Serum – Initial Impressions

Just a few days ago I finally finished my bottle of Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex. Loved it! Totally recommend it! Review to follow in the next week or so, so stay tuned.

I’ve been venturing more into skincare lately and I knew that once I finished the Advanced Night Repair I wanted to try something a little different. The ANR was more for skin hydration & anti-aging and I have no complaints with its effectiveness in those areas but I wanted to try an exfoliating product next. Coincidentally…

As I’ve mentioned a few times, I have a dry skin type but when the weather changes abruptly my skin goes out of whack. Lately on the East Coast we’ve been experiencing a heat wave. One day the weather was lovely – sunny, temperature in the 70s – then BAM! Suddenly we’re in the 80s/90s with high humidity. Then for a day it rained and cooled back down to the 70s, only to go back up uncomfortably into the 80s/90s again. My skin has been going haywire! I’ve been breaking out a little bit and experiencing lots of blackheads. Sorry, TMI.

During that same time, I’d been testing out a new body lotion (which I plan to do a blog post on soon, too). One day I happened to leave my jojoba oil (current facial moisturizer) at my parents’ house so, quite naively, I decided to use the body lotion on my face. Big mistake! BIG, BIG mistake! Never have I ever experienced such stinging, chapped pain on my face before. That lotion instantly dried out my face. Seriously! I had to wash my face immediately to remove all traces of the lotion because it hurt so much!

For the next day or so after that my face was peeling like crazy, like I had experienced a bad sunburn. The most sensitive areas of my face – the corners of my lips and around my nose – were red and irritated. Ugh, I was a mess. There was nothing to do but moisturize and exfoliate.

I realized that now was a perfect opportunity to go out and find a new exfoliating product like I had planned!

I did a little research and settled on the NIA24 Rapid Exfoliating Serum. NIA24, in general, seems to be a reputable brand and I’ve read a lot of positive reviews, not specifically on the Rapid Exfoliating Serum but about the company and its other products.

The Rapid Exfoliating Serum utilizes plant-based exfoliants and, according to the NIA24 website, it brightens and smooths skin and promises that in 14 days it will:

  • strengthen skin barrier
  • brighten skin tone
  • smooth skin texture
  • reduce rough patches
  • unclog pores

Sounds great…and possibly a lot of hooey, right? I’ve been using it at night for three days so what do I think? It’s AH-MAZE-ING! I didn’t see results instantaneously but the next morning after my first night using the product I noticed a visible lessening in dry skin and flakes on my face. And everyday since then, my skin has gotten a lot smoother, brighter and less flaky. I haven’t been using any other exfoliant besides the NIA24 serum, and the serum alone has been doing an excellent job keeping my skin from developing any new flaky areas.

Initially, based on the list of ingredients, I was worried that the alcohol in the serum would dry out my already super flaky skin but I’m happy to report that that hasn’t been the case so far. …although I may be seeing fantastic results because my skin was in horrible condition – the driest it ever was – right before I started this new regimen. I doubt it could get any drier. *crosses fingers*

When using the product, one has the option of using one or two pumps, and also the choice of using it once a day or twice a day (for accelerated results). I decided to play it safe. I’ve only been using one pump of product each night.

The serum definitely has a plant based smell but nothing too strong or offensive. It’s not fruity, floral or herbal/spicy in scent. Just an ambiguous plant smell.

The texture is very fluid and milky looking. I didn’t expect the consistency to be so thin and the first time I pumped some product out it nearly dripped off my hand, which would’ve been a shame if it did because it costs $75.00 for 1 fl. oz/30 mL.

The serum feels very light on the skin and absorbs relatively quickly. This is a leave-on exfoliating serum so you’re not supposed to wash your face afterward. There’s no tingling, burning or itching sensation to signal that it’s exfoliating my skin. Additionally, it doesn’t leave my face feeling greasy or sticky which I really like. It’s completely painless and gentle, and feels like I’ve got nothing on.

The packaging is also great. The serum comes in a glass bottle with a fantastic pump that allows you to control however little, or much, product you want to dispense. You can easily squeeze out one full pump, a quarter pump, or even one tiny drop with no difficulty at all.

Each night after I’ve cleansed my face and applied the serum, I follow up with my usual jojoba oil moisturizer and eye cream and go straight to bed. This has become my new nightly skincare ritual.

I’ll report back on the product in two weeks time, the time that NIA24 says it takes to see results. I’m already pleased with the results I’ve seen after 1-3 days. I can’t wait to see what my skin looks like at the end of 14 days!

2 thoughts on “NIA24 Rapid Exfoliating Serum – Initial Impressions

  1. Pingback: Update/Final Thoughts: NIA24 Rapid Exfoliating Serum & Colgate Pro Clinical Daily Cleaning Toothpaste « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.