Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse Foundation

The new drugstore “It” foundation that everyone seems to be buzzing about on You Tube and the blogosphere is Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse. Not to be confused with Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse, the Dream Smooth Mousse is supposedly an “ultra-hydrating, cream-whipped foundation” for normal to dry skin types. Being a dry skinned gal, that claim really got my attention. I’ve been scouring my local drugstores for it and finally found the new display at Duane Reade. In NY that seems to always be the first place the newest products appear.

What I love about the display is that it has testers for all the shades! I seemed to be the first person who’d happened upon it because the testers were all untouched. Yay!

The first thing I noticed about the foundation is its texture. It’s definitely unlike Maybelline’s other whipped mousse products (e.g. Maybelline Dream Mousse blushes and eye shadows). In my opinion, it’s not fluffy or mousse-y at all. The consistency actually reminds me of a cold stick of butter, definitely more solid. When you touch/rub the surface it melts slightly into a thin, slippery, more creamy texture, like cold butter would but without the greasy factor. Applying it to the back of my hand, it glided and smoothed over my skin very easily. However, I noticed that it settled into all my fine lines so I’m not exactly sure how this product is supposed to be good for dry skin. If anything, I think it would accentuate all the dry areas on my face, not to mention my large pores. Additionally, it didn’t feel hydrating at all and looked a bit powdery on the back of my hand once it had dried down. I definitely wouldn’t call this foundation dewy*. I’d categorize Dream Smooth Mousse as a cream to powder product. When I first applied it it looked like a dewy cream but given a chance to set it dried to a matte-to-semi-matte finish.

If I remember correctly, there were 10 tester shades available in the Dream Smooth Mousse display. I think people with very dark skin would find it difficult, if not impossible, to find a shade. I’ve always considered myself light complexioned but nowhere near the fairest of the fair. With most drugstore cosmetics brands I’m usually the second lightest shade. Even so, I tested the first 3 lightest shades out of habit – 110 Porcelain Ivory, 150 Classic Ivory, and 180 Nude Beige – because, hey, you never know; some foundations run a little dark.

I found that Porcelain Ivory went on too light and pink for my liking. The next shade up, Classic Ivory, was a better match but just a touch too dark and yellow. Nude Beige was a total miss, way too dark for me. For reference, I’m an NW/NC 15-20 in MAC.

After swatching the three lightest shades on the back of my hand, I decided to browse the store and noticed the new L’Oreal Studio Secrets eye shadow duos and Color Smokes quads display, as well as the new Maybelline Studio Cream eye shadow trios. I considered buying one of the Maybelline trios that consisted of neutral beige and brown shades since I love cream products but decided to pass and wait for a sale down the line (I’m saving up my coupons, baby!).

I left the store about 15-30 minutes later. As I was leaving, I looked down at my hand and noticed that the Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse swatches had all oxidized on me, darkening considerably. Nude Beige and Classic Ivory had turned into noticeably orange stripes on me while Porcelain Ivory had warmed up and now blended seamlessly into my skin. Huh, whaddya know? I guess if a sale ever rolls around, I’ll be buying the lightest shade (and probably still the second shade as well). That’ll be a first.

Walking out of the store and into the bright, noonday sun (it was 85 degrees today and felt hot as hell with no breeze), I noticed that my hand was shimmering slightly. Aha! I’m guessing that that’s another difference between the Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse and the Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse formulas. Not having tried Dream Matte Mousse before I can’t be sure but I would assume that it contains no shimmers, being supposedly matte and all. No worries though for the shimmer-phobic because the shimmer in the Dream Smooth Mousse is very sparse and gives a very natural glow effect. Actually, even “glow” sounds too intense so forget I said that. The shimmer is very, very subtle so don’t be scared. You won’t be mistaken for a disco ball. There’s only a tiny bit of shimmer that’s only apparent in direct sunlight; indoors, it’s undetectable.

Anyway, those are just my initial thoughts on this new foundation based on some quick swatches. Take it for what it’s worth. I just wanted to share my initial impressions. For those who are considering buying this foundation I suggest you do what I did: swatch it and take your time in the store to see if it oxidizes on you first. Foundations don’t usually change color on me but this one did. Perhaps I’ll buy the Dream Smooth Mousse eventually but I have some serious doubts about its hydrating quality and effectiveness on dry skin. Also, I feel that the finish might be a bit too matte and powdery looking for me. Alas, I prefer a dewy look.

*My definition of dewy = The look of freshly moisturized skin, slightly moist in appearance, like you’ve just been walking out in the morning dew. Absolutely no shimmer.

3 thoughts on “Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse Foundation

  1. Pingback: Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse Foundation Revisited and Slayed « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.