Drugstore Haul: NYC Ultra Last Lipsticks (Caramel and Plum Rum) and Maybelline Moisture Extreme in Peach Mocha

Ever since I saw this post comparing New York Color’s Ultra Last lipsticks in Caramel and Plum Rum to MAC To The Beach collection’s lipsticks in Thrills and Funbathing, respectively, I’ve been lemming them.

With coupons in hand, I finally went to my local Duane Reade drugstore to snag those lippies up. The retail price on the NYC Ultra Last lipsticks is $1.99 each but using two $1 off coupons, I was able to get both lipsticks for $0.99 each. Yay!

NYC Caramel is a really pretty frosty copper lipstick that would look fab on someone with lush, smooth lips. Me, I’ve got lots of fine lines on my lips which, coupled with frosty lipsticks, generally isn’t a good look. I wish I could pull it off, but I find that the frost in Caramel really accentuates the fine lines. If I want to wear Caramel I have to prime my lips with a balm and use a gloss over top.

I much prefer NYC Plum Rum, which is a gorgeous plummy, browned berry shade with a creme (non-shimmer) finish. I like brighter pinks and corals during the spring and summer, so I’ll save this color for the fall/winter. The texture is lovely. Smooth, without being slippery or greasy in texture. Also, these lipsticks have no scent whatsoever which is always a plus, in my opinion.

While I was browsing the aisles I noticed that select shades of the Maybelline Moisture Extreme lipsticks were 50% off. The Moisture Extremes are my absolute favorite drugstore lipsticks. They’re silky smooth on the lips, moisturizing and have good color payoff. I like them a whole heck of a lot more than the much touted Color Sensationals (so disappointing). I decided to grab Peach Mocha. Normally, I’d stay away from anything too brown, especially a lipstick with “mocha” in its name but when I looked at the lipstick it didn’t look crazy brown at all. It’s actually more of a rosy color with a touch of brown. The pigmentation’s also quite nice, it has a creme finish, and is very wearable. I used a $1 off Maybelline coupon so I think the lipstick came out to just a little over $2 (including tax).

All in all, this was a very good haul and I’m mostly satisfied with all my purchases.

One thought on “Drugstore Haul: NYC Ultra Last Lipsticks (Caramel and Plum Rum) and Maybelline Moisture Extreme in Peach Mocha

  1. Pingback: June Favorites « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.