April Favorites

Now that the weather’s been warming up, I’ve been wanting a bit more color to my skin. Baking in the sun’s a no-no, and I like my pale skin too much to mess with any self-tanning products. I like having options; I want to be able to be pale or sun kissed whenever I want, so I’m against anything that’ll color my skin in a permanent/semi-permanent manner. That’s where my love of bronzing powders come in, and I’ve got plenty!

N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Powders in Island Spice and Heart of Gold
I actually purchased these two bronzers from last year’s spring/summer limited edition Golden Girl collection. Until April, they were still in their original shrink wrap and had been gathering dust in my stash. I have no idea why I never thought to use them because they’re fabulous! They’re very pigmented and not overly shimmery at all. As with all my bronzers, I prefer to use them as blush rather than an all-over powder.

N.Y.C. Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powders in Pink Glow and Peach Glow
After discovering the hidden gems in my stash, of course I had to go out and pick up a few more NYC mosaic powders. Just my luck, CVS was having a BOGOF on all NYC products and I had a couple of $1 coupons. I knew I had to take advantage of that deal because Buy 1 Get 1 Free sales are a rare thing these days. I ended up getting Peach Glow and Pink Glow from NYC’s permanent collection for $3 total. Pink Glow is a very pretty light pink but I’m really into bronze/peach/coral looks right now – hey, it’s summer – and Peach Glow has become my go-to blush this season. It’s such a beautiful apricot color on my cheeks, really fresh and healthy looking on my light skin, and not muddy in the slightest as you can tell from the mosaic’s lack of brown shades (thumbs up!). Pink Glow will probably get more use later this year.

Perhaps I ignored the mosaic powders for so long because I became prejudiced against NYC face products after my disappointing experience with NYC’s Cheek Glow powder blushes. I’ve owned two or three of the Cheek Glows and I hated the texture (hard, chalky), found the color payoff really poor, and the shades looked like dirt on my skin. Bleh. They’re simply not good products, in my honest opinion.

N.Y.C. Blushable Creme Sticks
I just don’t have anything bad to say about them. I love the shades I own, the texture, the finish, the scent (none), and the price. It’s an all-around good product at $3.99 or any price. I own two shades as of right now: Plaza Pink and Pink Flash (a bright, coral-pink from this year’s limited edition Shock Value collection) and I plan on getting at least one more, probably Wild Berry (LE).

Physicians Formula Gel CreamLiners
Last, but definitely not least, I’m really loving the PF gel liners, specifically the set for Brown Eyes which is the one I own. These gel liners are seriously the creamiest I’ve ever used, even creamier than Bobbi Brown gel liners which were my previous favorite. They’re water-resistant, pigmented and last very well on my watery, small crease eyes. I think they’re superior to MAC Fluidline, wnw, Jane, and L’Oreal HIP gel/creme liners which all smudged really badly on me.

The only thing I don’t like about the PF liners is that they come in plastic containers. I fear they’ll dry up on me pretty fast like the wnw did (also in a plastic container). Right now I’m storing them upside down because I’ve been told that’ll help them last longer. I’m thinking of emptying the HIP, Fluidline, and Jane jars and transferring the PF gel liners into them but I’m a makeup hoarder and I hate throwing things away.

I’ve also been trying out some new skincare products and the results so far are promising but skincare’s always an iffy thing. One minute my skin seems to love something, the next it’s going haywire. I don’t want to jinx things so I’m going to let a bit more time pass before I start raving or ranting about them.

One thought on “April Favorites

  1. Pingback: May Favorites « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.