NOTD: wet n wild Wild Shine #405 Sunny Side Up

Today’s nail of the day is wnw’s Sunny Side Up, a bright yellow-orange creme polish.

This was one of the handful of new nail polish shades that wet n wild released when they revamped their entire cosmetics line. I raved about their new lilac, Wild Card, in a previous post. I have to say, though, that I think Sunny Side Up is a dud.

I found Sunny Side Up to be very streaky. Three coats is a definite must with this polish but I would even suggest a fourth. I did three and I can still see unevenness and streaking. Worse, I put some on last night and I’m actually seeing some chipping today! The thing that really bugged me though was the brush that came with it. Maybe I got a defective bottle but the brush in mine was almost fan shaped, and it made application a pain in the behind. 

Most of all, the color just isn’t very flattering on my skin. Sunny Side Up is very similar (more similar than the picture seems to show) to another nail polish in my stash, Sally Hansen’s Sun Kissed, but pulls slightly more yellow. On my yellow-toned skin, I think it makes me look jaundiced. My mother thinks it makes my skin look like dirt. Either way, not good.

