L(unch)OTD and another snack attack

Today’s lunch of the day looks a bit time consuming but is really a snap to make. It’s a real simple potato pancake (“Criques”) that’s flavored with onions, garlic, a pinch of salt and scallions; a couple of eggs and tablespoons of potato starch bind the whole thing together. What makes it so simple is that the whole thing can be whipped together in a food processor or blender. Prep time for all the ingredients is about 10-15 minutes. Cooking time is the same as with regular pancakes, about 3-5 minutes per side.

The result is a surprisingly light pancake that isn’t as heavy as a traditional potato pancake where you’d shred the potatoes (those can suck up a lot of oil when you fry them). I served each pancake with a generous dollop of sour cream. nomnomnom.

The recipe comes from Jacques Pepin’s tv series More Fast Food My Way and can be found here.

I think the pancake is almost a little too light for me. I prefer a denser texture. In the video (in the link above), Jacques mentions that some people make the “criques” with mashed potatoes. I think I’ll try that next time because I imagine that would give me a heavier, starchier texture.

As for what I’m snacking on (upper right picture), that would be prawn chips and rice cakes. Both are available in your Asian supermarkets. They come “raw” (actually cooked but dehydrated) and you need to deep fry them. The part I love about them is how they expand and puff up in the fryer. Have you ever seen those tiny little sponges that expand to 10x their size once you add water? That’s kind of how these chips act. They grow as they fry, and you end up with beautiful, crunchy rainbow chips and crispy, puffed rice. BTW: These rice crackers taste nothing like Rice Krispies cereal or those Quaker Rice Cakes in the supermarket. They have a more toasty, nutty flavor and are far more crunchy. And the prawn chips are, I believe, also a rice chip that’s flavored with prawn/shrimp extract.

