NOTD: Sinful Colors #113 Dream On

Today’s NOTD is one I’ve mentioned before in a stash blog entry: Sinful Colors 113 Dream On.

Dream On is a color I lovingly refer to as my Barney the Dinosaur nail polish. In daylight, it’s a reddish violet polish that dries totally matte (as in a flat, no shine/glossiness whatsoever finish); however, in dimmer lighting, Dream On appears more of a deeper, bluish purple shade. I’ve tacked on a few swatch pics that document this strange chameleon-like phenomena at the end of this entry.

I used Sally Hansen Hard as Nails as my base coat, followed by 3 coats of Dream On, and CHI top coat to add protection and shine since I wasn’t in the mood for a matte polish. I should probably have used 4 coats of Dream On because in some areas I can see a bit of streaking and uneveness.

At $1.99 each, the Sinful Colors n/p are very cheap and, unsurprisingly, the quality isn’t that great. I feel it’s important to mention that the formula is on the thin, streaky side and it does have one of those thin, small brushes that I don’t particularly care for. Still, they’ve got a large range of fun, bright colors and glittery top coats, so all is forgiven. You just have to know before purchasing Sinful Colors polishes that they’ll take some extra time and layers to look good.

On a separate but related note, I think I may have spotted a L.A. Colors dupe for Dream On at the Dollar Tree. I’m not sure though which is why I painted my nails with Dream On. I usually make a weekly Dollar Tree run on the weekends, and I wanted to be able to compare the two shades side by side without having to bring the actual bottle of Dream On with me. I guess I could swatch Dream On on a piece of paper and bring that along with me, but nail polishes typically don’t look the same on paper as they do on my skin. I’ll report back and let you know if the L.A. Colors polish is indeed a dupe in a few days.

One thought on “NOTD: Sinful Colors #113 Dream On

  1. Thank you for noting dream on dries matte. I’ve never had a flat nail polish before so I searched it hoping to find if it was supposed to be flat.

    Also sinful colors is an excellent nail polish because not only is it cheap, it dries fast and most importantly it has no formaldehyde, dbp, and toluene and in some colors also no camphor. Also almost all of the colors are made in the USA (only the art colors are not made in the USA). I think these are the most important facts about the brand. Many people are allergic to those chemicals not too mention they cause cancer.

Comments are closed.