Adventures in noodle land: jah jan mien

Deja vu? Think you’ve seen this post before? No, no quite. The previous post here was written about a Korean brand of jja jang myun noodles. The blog entry today is on Wei Lih Jah Jan Mien, a Taiwanese brand of instant noodles. Both noodles are a soy bean paste sauce based noodle but the flavors are vastly different. The Korean brand was extremely bland with a mild saltiness. The Taiwanese brand, however, is definitely more bold and intense, reminiscent of miso paste but deeper in flavor, if that makes any sense. There’s also a subtle tang, which is understandable since soy bean paste usually needs to be fermented in order to fully develop its flavor.

The Wei Lih noodles, like the Korean noodles, are a dry noodle (as in NOT a ramen/noodle that sits in soup); you simply mix the cooked, well-drained noodles with the sauce packet that’s included. However, Wei Lih gives you a small packet to which you’re supposed to add some boiling water to make yourself a little bowl of soup to accompany your bowl of noodles. Cool.

I actually quite enjoy these noodles but they’re something that I can only have once in awhile because the flavor is quite strong. Eating this everyday would be too much. I feel the same way about Burger King Whoppers. Yeah, weird, but that intense flame broiled taste just stays with me long after I’ve finished eating a Whopper. All I have to do is think about that burger, and it’s like my mouth and mind are flooded with those flavors again. This is how I feel about the Wei Lih noodles; they’re so strong they linger in my memory.

