Pizza: Two Ways!

Ever since I discovered that the local supermarket sells fresh pizza dough ($0.99 for a 2 lb bag), I’ve been making lots of pizzas at home. It sure beats shelling out $10-$20 for a medium or large pizza every time you’re in the mood for a slice, and sometimes that’s just the price without any toppings. Pfft. The dough’s the most time-consuming part of making pizzas so if I can get it pre-made its a cinch.

Here are two pizzas that I’ve made in the past month.

I got the recipe for the first pizza from a book on Mediterranean/Middle Eastern cuisine. I returned the book awhile ago but I believe the recipe was for something the author called “Lebanese pizza”. The pizza is actually more of a flatbread with toppings that include sauteed eggplants, bell peppers, onions, ground meat (the recipe called for lamb but I used a mix of beef & pork), crushed tomatoes, allspice, coriander, and lots of other seasonings. The flavor profile is definitely unique and not something that I had experienced before. I don’t recall ever using or tasting allspice in my life; I had to go out and buy some specifically for this recipe. The toppings are cooked beforehand and then added to the pizza/flatbread. It came out really delicious and I would definitely make this again…that is, if I can ever find the recipe again.

The next pizza was really just a lazy weekend lunch that I concocted on the fly. I had some pocketless pitas in the fridge, as well as some leftover mozzarella and spaghetti sauce. I popped open a can of pineapples and VOILA instant cheese pizza with pineapple topping. The trick to making sure the pita doesn’t get soggy is to oil and pre-bake the pita at 400 degrees (5 minutes per side) before adding the sauce and toppings. That way your “pizza crust” gets a bit dry and crispy. I personally like a thin-crust crispy pizza crust and I find this method works really well to achieve that. If I had to do it again, though, I would probably have baked it for a bit longer so that the cheese browned a little. My only excuse is I was SOOOO hungry I couldn’t wait!

One thought on “Pizza: Two Ways!

  1. Pingback: Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.